We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of Ann's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ann's Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Was this the fanciest place we stayed on our 10 day vacation - no. But, it was perfect for our one night stop in Wall. The room was large, very clean and had everything we needed. The price was also right - $50 for each of our 2 rooms. It was the best value of our trip. Highly recommended if you're staying in Wall.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsnefn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    39
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
49
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City metro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We have stayed during Sturgis week in both 2007 & 2008. The location is convenient to all the Black Hills attractions, the rooms are clean & well kept and the family goes out of their way to make your stay memorable. They don't raise their rates just to take advantage of you as the chain motels are doing.They even kept an article left behind in 2007 until we arrived the next year!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakraybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

The motel is run by a friendly staff. Location is perfect to main street. Room was cozy and clean. Pillows were stained and tired, but those were small details. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — friendliness and location
  • Disliked — tired pillows
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank andre2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed here one night on our way out to Yellowstone Park. It was a nice location close to the Wall Drug shops. The rooms were clean.

  • Liked — Convenient location - price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

This will always be my first choice for Wall, and probably for any trip into the region.
Very clean. We had a separate cabin and it really was spotless. Comfortable bedding, oversize fridge, coffee pot.
The walls are panelled in rough wood, keeps it cozy.
The two of us were very comfortable there, even with all our luggage. Not huge, but ok.
Best of all, it is one block from Wall Drug-an easy walk. You can cover the whole of Wall in a nice stroll from Ann's.

The staff was very polite and helpful.
The following is a plus for some, a minus for others.
There is a railroad that runs through Wall. The one train that came through during our stay could be faintly heard from our room. We love trains, so no big deal. If any sound bothers you, ask for a room away from the tracks.

Since convenience and cleanliness are important to me, I was thrilled with Ann's.

  • Liked — cozy, authentic, family owned
  • Disliked — small, one window
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderkat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waynesfield, oh
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2008

My husband and I had stayed at Ann's twice before. We were traveling with my husband's brother and sister-in-law and could think of no other place to stay except for Ann's.
The price was right and we knew from our previous stays that the accommodations were excellent.
It is also a good base from which to travel to Mt. Rushmore, Bear Country USA and Crazy Horse Monument. These can be seen in a day after an early breakfast at the Wall Dining Room. Only place I know of where you can get a 5 cent cup of coffee. (Although it may be 10 or 15 cents now).
We enjoyed staying at Ann's and our companions thought it was great too.
We have not been able to travel to S.D. in the past 5 years, but if we get a chance to do so, rest assured we will be staying at Ann's Motel. We would not hesitate for a minute to recommend her motel to anyone.
Ralph and Maxine Butturff, Waynesfield, Oh.

  • Liked — It was within walking distance to Wall Drug and the room was very neat and clean.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayflower20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at Ann's Motel in Wall, SD after receiving advice from a friend. I have to tell you, Ann's Motel was probably the cleanest, friendliest motel we have ever stayed in. The staff is very friendly,
the rooms were very clean and comfortable and best of all extremely affordable and only 1 block from downtown Wall. I would recommend Ann's Motel for your lodging choice the next time you go to Wall or the Badlands. I know we will definately stay here if we come back to South Dakota! Duane & Mary Beth Hart, Rochester, MN.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Melonmanhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.5 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
162 reviews
22.6 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Motel

Property: Ann's Motel
Address: 114 4th Avenue, Wall, SD 57790
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wall
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Ann`s Hotel Wall
Anns Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing