We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True to Other Reviews”
Review of Ann's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ann's Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“True to Other Reviews”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband was skeptical of the little motel, but I booked it based on the reviews here. We arrived late and a call ahead had the key waiting for us on the door. The beds were comfortable. The room was adequately large enough to sleep a family of five and the rollaway was waiting for us while we arrived. The room was clean, clean, clean! Just as everyone noted. Remember it's a motel, but the price was right, the room was right, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The air conditioner was a bit loud, but that's the only thing I could fault. And it didn't bother us on the quality of our sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    41
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
51
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I rate lodging on cleanliness first, as that is most important factor for me. Second comes price. This motel meets both with 5 stars. My kids were thrilled with the small cabin-like room we had. It was squeals of delight as soon as we pulled up (which was handy and just steps from our room), then squeals of delight from me when I saw the room was clean, had no odor, a fridge, and wifi. Kudos to Ann, who was a gem to speak to as well. Idr how much our king-sized bed room was, I believe it was less than $75. Either way, I do remember thinking it was a good deal. I will recommend Ann's to anyone I know staying in the Black Hills and plan on staying here next time I visit as well.

Room Tip: Request one of the cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRM210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I wanted to visit Wall Drug in Wall, SD and we arrived late and it was closed. We spent the night at Ann's Motel and it was nice and comfy. Ann was happy to suggest places to eat and called before to be sure the restaurant was open. You have the choice of a cabin or room, we stayed in the room, queen bed, she has a prayer in the room wishing travelers a safe journey. We thanked her for her kindness before we left, hope you travel in that direction and visit Ann's
Motel. Not fancy, dancy but a good old fashioned homey stay with warmth from Ann.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

There is not much to choose from in Wall, but I would say that Ann's is a great choice for the area. The room was clean, comfortable and the staff (owner and her son) were very friendly. If we travel there again, I would stay at Ann's. Excellent prices! and yes we had wifi!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

The room is clean and comfortable, the people are very nice. No charge for my dog. Rooms come with nice TV, microwave, coffee maker. Right in back of Wall Drug. Only one drawback--no wifi in the rooms. But, for the price, not bad at all. And, as I single woman, I feel very safe.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank jcolleenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you're looking for a comfortable night or week's stay near the Badlands, this is the place. Ann is super friendly, the rooms are comfortable, all the comforts of home on the road. Just a short walk from the Drug Store and main street. You will love this place! We stayed in the motel, but Ann also has some single cabins on the west side of the facility. Just good, midwestern people run the place with a smile.

Room Tip: if you'd like something more detached from the motel, ask for one of the cabins. I was surprised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I planned a stay in Wall during my end-to-end driving vacation of South Dakota, but I hadn't necessarily picked a place. I stumbled onto Ann's and was absolutely thrilled. Delightful owner, gracious accommodations, fabulous location (easy on/off to I90, easy walking distance to all that Wall has to offer). The best part was finding out that the adorable cabin-style rooms were the same price as a regular room. Speaking of the cabins, they are completely separated from each other and the main hotel so there is no noise from other guests, ice makers, soda machines, etc. AND - I could park my car practically on the front porch. I cannot say enough about how much I loved staying there. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: get a cabin - set away from all the hubbub, very private but not stuck in some weird remote section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilowRunAlpacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.5 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
132 reviews
22.6 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Motel

Property: Ann's Motel
Address: 114 4th Avenue, Wall, SD 57790
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wall
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Ann`s Hotel Wall
Anns Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing