We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at grandma's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Like staying at grandma's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

This quaint hotel is less than a block from the stores in Wall.

No pool but the price was forty some dollars. I had to look at the bill twice! Our family of six. (four kids under 10) all fit. With two beds and a rollaway it was cozy but all we did was sleep there anyway. It was our rest stop from the badlands park.
The ladies working there were friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. I felt like I was staying with relatives. The room was clean. After we drove by the other hotels I thought we could have stayed in the big name chain ones, but I was glad we stayed where we could park the car and walk to everything in Wall. Mention you saw it on the internet for the discounted price. This was one of the smallest bills on my charge card for the whole vacation. I hope they don't change anything.

  • Liked — The welcome feeling of staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    120
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
132
173
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

Nice, clean, reasonably-priced hotel close to the Badlands. Owner is very personable. Can walk to restaurants for dinner and breakfast. Coffee and donuts available in hotel office in the morning.

  • Liked — close to Badlands
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alan2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

Older motor hotel, but the room was clean and the staff was friendly. Great location, 1/2 block from Wall Drug. Inexpensive rates, plus you can save $5 by mentioning their website. Overall, a pleasant experience. We'd definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Liked — clean, inexpensive, great location
  • Disliked — older property
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoNo501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2006

Great value, quiet, clean rooms everything a weary traveler could need. Close to the downtown with a short drive to the beautiful Badlands. This is a great travel value!

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LIpetzkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort collins, CO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2006

Booked two days in advance and received a non-smoking queen room for under $40. Very clean and the desk was very helpful and polite. They provide towels and handsoap. Bring your own alarmclock or ask for a wakeup call. The best part is that you can walk to Wall Drug in about a minute flat. Very cool way to start the day befrore heading out. Not the Ritz, but you're sure to have a nice stay.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank dabeastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

The Sunshine Inn is a well maintained older motel. The location is very close to Wall Drug. The rooms have been well maintained and updated with newer carpet and wall treatments. Great price! Took in my information sheet from their web site and received $5.00 off the price. They do not provide the amenities of a 3 star hotel, but the rooms are clean and spacious, with comfortable beds, and an upgrade from your normal small town older motels in the way of bath towels and pillows. The management is very friendly and helpful. I couldn't find a local newspaper anywhere that night and asked the manager where to find one, he gave me his own paper. A very pleasant stay here, would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2006

Fabulous, very cute, independently owned was a plus. Great location and good price.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
22.4 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Wall
Motel 6 Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing