We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!”
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very nice "mom and pop" hotel. Clean, comfortable. Very friendly. Great price during offseason. Would stay at this hotel again. Great location in Wall, near Wall Drug, witch is very unique. Not anything fancy but this hotel is a great value for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks. Writing as the "pop" of this "mom and pop" hotel, I appreciate you staying at the Sunshine Inn and your succinct commentary about your experience here. "Clean, comfortable. Very Friendly. Great price during offseason," these are the words that we strive to hear from our guests. Oh, and by the way, our "in-season" prices are also very moderate, and quite a bit lower than our franchised competition. Thanks for calling us a "great value" and making a point of saying you'd stay here again. It was our pleasure having you. We look forward to your next high-value experience at the Sunshine Inn. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 464 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having read all the outstanding reviews for this motel, we were a bit disappointed. Definitely agree that it was clean, quiet, comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, lots of channels on tv, coffee and small rolls in office in morning, a heater in the bathroom (which many more expensive places omit), and does have Wi-fi. It was lacking a clock, blow dryer, coffee-maker, ice bucket, and luggage rack to set suitcase on. Apparently we had a different person at the front desk than some - or maybe just having a bad day (we got there about 8 pm, so if she'd been on all day, she was probably exhausted). There was a special discount if you mentioned Trip Advisor when booking, so we got that as well as a AAA discount. For that price, it met our needs adequately.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Sunshine Inn and taking the time to write what seems to be an overall pretty good review of your experience. We happily take note of your complimentary remarks regarding our rooms: "clean, quiet, comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, lots of channels on tv, coffee and small rolls in office in morning, a heater in the bathroom (which many more expensive places omit), and does have Wi-fi." These are all the elements of a great night's rest, which we provide with great regularity and receive generally excellent feedback about, both on the premises and here at TripAdvisor. I regret that you didn't take the time to read a prominently placed list of available amenities, on request, that is on every room's credenza. Your need for a clock, blow dryer, Ice bucket (there should have been one on the cocktail table in your room, sorry if we missed that one) and luggage rack would have been met with a call to the front desk, from which we happily supply those items immediately and right to your door. We don't have coffee makers in our rooms as space and electric outlets are limited. However, we keep a potful of fresh coffee on hand in the office from 6:30 a.m. to 11 p.m. and encourage our customers to take as much as they like whenever they like. I'm sorry I wasn't in the office to greet you personally and am surprised to read that you thought my fill-in renter had a "bad day," as she generally gets complimented on her demeanor and friendliness. I will most certainly call your comment to her attention. Otherwise, it does read like you felt you got good value for your stay at the Sunshine Inn. We most certainly hope you'll give us another try and are quite confident that you'll be pleased with the outcome. Thanks again for staying and for the overall good review. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped on Sept. 2, 2013. I have travelled the road as a salesman for over 35 years and this is one of the best motel. The building and design are old, but the room is clean, the bed was firm, all the lights and TV worked, the shower will drown you in nice warm water and it is quiet at night. I never had an innkeeper stop my car in the morning and thank me for staying, until the SUNSHINE INN. We were on the road for 28 days from Delaware to Vancouver to Phoenix to Delaware. The SUNSHINE was the motel to remember. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thanks for staying and for the kind words. Calling the Sunshine Inn one of the best motels you've stayed in after 35 years on the road is a compliment that we accept with pride and commitment to maintaining the standards you so admire. Yes, this is an older property, built around 1980, but we scrupulously maintain it in tip top condition, make sure the rooms are immaculate, provide GREAT beds and keep all fixtures and equipment in perfect working order. Thank you for also noticing the excellent water pressure in our showers, which guests often comment about. As you note, we're a quiet place, several blocks away from the hub-bub of the interstate, yet just a short walk away from all of downtown Wall's great attractions, including the world famous Wall Drug Store. That I made it a point to make sure I thanked you for staying with us and insuring that all went well for you is standard procedure here. You can expect the same quality lodging as well as the "personal touch" whenever you're here. Hope to see you again sometime. Meanwhile, happy travels! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We would have picked a chain hotel except that reviews here steered us to the Sunshine Inn. We were very happy with the price, the large comfortable room, its cleanliness, and the friendliness of the owner. A very happy find -- we'd stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks so much for staying at the Sunshine Inn and posting your "terrific" review here. We have always stressed value at our facility and welcome comparisons between us and the many franchised properties nearby. That you made the effort to locate us and give the Sunshine Inn a try is most appreciated. That you were impressed enough with the experience to share it on TripAdvisor is most gratifying. That you'd stay here without hesitation adds a third "most": you'd be most welcome. Thanks again for the kind words. Hope to see you again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My Mother and I have enjoyed staying at the Sunshine in each time we come to Wall. We have been coming every summer for quite a few years. It is so nice when people remember you! This is a very friendly, clean, and welcoming motel. I want to say that it is great for my Mom who is handicapped and uses a wheelchair. There is plenty of room for her to get around. Thank you for making our trip fun and we can't wait to come back next year! Sorry we missed you when we were there John.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbieh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thanks for your kind remarks. Wish I could have been there personally to greet you and your charming mother, but look forward to doing so again in the future. That you choose to return on a regular basis is the kind of endorsement that we at the Sunshine Inn most appreciate. "Friendly, clean, and welcoming" are the kinds of adjectives that make us swell with pride--and also challenge us to maintain the same high level of customer satisfaction that you receive and make note of here. Looking forward to seeing you again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I (plus 2 dogs) travel between Virginia and Montana twice a year every year. South Dakota is a regular stop, but we have avoided Wall because it is . . . well, all about Wall Drugs. But circumstances sent us to Wall on this trip, and we were delighted with this little motel. Yes, it's small, the furnishings are dated, and there is not a flat screen TV in sight. But it is scrupulously clean and well maintained. The owner (John) was a delight. And, the beds were excellent. Most of the places we stay are eminently forgettable. But we will make a point of staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Having you stay at the Sunshine Inn was a happy circumstance indeed. Thank you so much for the kind words and for stressing our most important asset--"Value"--in your heading. That we're "scrupulously clean" and "well maintained" are attributes that come with a fair amount of hard work and a commitment to offering our customers the great night's rest that they seek. Our "excellent beds" (regularly replaced on a rotating schedule) are a most important component of that commitment. Thanks for mentioning them. I appreciate the kind personal remarks and must add that visiting with you was a special pleasure for me, too. Thanks for considering the Sunshine Inn to be eminently "rememberable" and making a point of returning. We'd be delighted to see you here again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Once again, I'm so glad we checked with tripadvisor when looking for a room in Wall, SD. The reviews were right... the Sunshine Inn is a great place to spend the evening. We arrived late, having ridden the Badlands loop with the full moon. (On a side note, all motorcycle enthusiasts should put that on their bucket list.) The location is perfect, the rooms were clean, the beds and linens were great and like most of the reviewers commented... John was a great host.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Sunshine Inn and commenting here about your experience. In addition to the kind remarks about our lodging facility, your recommendation to other motorcyclists about the wonders of our region, particularly the Badlands, are most appreciated. I've experienced the same nighttime adventure in the park and agree that it is an amazing experience. Day or night, Badlands National Park stands out as one of Mother Nature's masterpieces. Thanks also for stressing the cleanliness of our rooms, the comfort of our beds and bedding linens and the friendly reception you got in our office. I couldn't have been more pleased to host you and your companions and certainly hope we get to see you here at the Sunshine Inn again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
174 reviews
22.4 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: $69 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing