We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay!”
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We pulled into Wall to see the drug store and to stay over for the night. We have been on the road for over 30 days (left Missouri and went to Alaska and back on motorcycles!) and have stayed in a lot of places, this was one of the best. The owner checked us in, was very nice and gave us a very good rate. The room was super clean (not fancy, but super clean) and its location was great- walking distance to Wall Drug and close to hwy for Badlands tour. Small breakfast, but for the price we were more than happy. Again, I cant say nice enough things about this independent hotel- great price, great room, great owner (called us by name and did a few other things that he didnt have too!). STAY HERE! :-)

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor to be close to our motorcycles, but you probably cant get a bad room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeartyTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience here. I especially appreciate your kind remarks about how you were treated by me and my staff. We try to be friendly and helpful and make it a point to accommodate the special needs of all our travelers--just our way of doing things. My staff particularly is pleased to see your comment about our rooms being "super clean." It's both a compliment and a challenge to maintain our high standards of care and cleanliness. We certainly hope you'll come and stay with us again!. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

This review is long overdue. My husband and I decided last minute that we were going to stay overnight in Wall so that we could get up first thing in the morning to experience the Badlands. We were still in Rapid City, so we called and the owner answered. This was during Sturgis, but he had one room open for one night and said that he would hold it for us. Honestly, I don't even remember if we gave him a credit card over the phone or just our name. True to his word, we got there around 8 pm and had a room waiting for us. The property, room, and electronics are certainly dated. However, everything was clean and you could tell that the owner took a great amount of pride in his property and that is what really made it welcoming. We had a great night sleep and were out early the next morning. If we ever end up needing a bed in Wall, this is the only place that I would consider.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Fitzlovos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Many thanks for your visit and these kind words. Yes, we are certainly an older property, built during the 1970s, but our philosophy is that while you can't stop from getting old, you can certainly make sure your existing assets stay clean, functional, and in tip top shape. Like so many other reviewers here on TripAdvisor, you make note of our cleanliness, which is our highest priority, so while you note that we are "dated", we're proud of the fact that our attitude and operation retains a lot of "old-fashioned" qualities that amount to great service and a high-value experience. Thanks for keeping us at the top of your list of lodging options when in the area. I'll make sure your experience lives up to your memory and your expectations! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Every year we stay at the Sunshine Inn on our way to the black hills. It is so convenient, right off the freeway and one half block to the Wall Drug. the beds are very comfortable, the room is exceptionally clean, John the owner is nice, accommodating and very informative about the natural history of the area. He gives good advice about restaurants and activities in the area. As always we plan to return there next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccle008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your return visits, which we consider the ultimate in good endorsements. That you choose to share your thoughts and experiences here only adds to our appreciation. Noting our great location, so handy to Wall Drug Store and the rest of Wall's historic Main Street shops and attractions, is very nice of you to mention, as it adds to our list of attributes that are the focus of our efforts in providing a great lodging experience to Sunshine Inn guests. I personally appreciate your mention of me as a host because I make every effort to share my experience and knowledge of the local culture and landscape with our guests. We certainly do look forward to your return and intend to make each successive visit as good or better than the last one! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a nice stay at this hotel. It's a basic motel, but you got the feel of an owner who cares and takes care of their place. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and they brought out a roll-away that worked well for our family.

I'd have no problem recommending this motel to anyone and would be glad to patronize them again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for staying at the Sunshine Inn and sharing your thoughts and experience here. We take a great deal of pride in our property and go to every length to keep it clean and in tip-top condition. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, competitive rates--yes, as you note, these are basics, but to us they're what a good lodging experience are all about. We couldn't be happier that yours was a good stay here. Thank you for recommending us. We do hope you will patronize us again. You're certainly most welcome here at the Sunshine Inn! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are from Pennsylvania, and have been traveling for 2weeks, touring the country. We have stayed in quite a few hotels, and the Sunshine Inn was one of the best. This hotel is affordable, at less than $80 for the three of us. Beds are clean and comfortable, bathroom is spacious, and it has a tv, and air conditioning. For breakfast there was coffee and rolls or donuts. We grabbed a cup of coffee, and headed to Wall Drug, for breakfast and shopping! If you need a hotel in this area, check. Out Sunshine Inn. You will save money and be able to shop!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your visit and for expressing so kindly our most important atttibute: Value. We believe that we provide travelers with a great night's rest in a clean, well-equipped and well-maintained room at, as you say, an "affordable" price. My thanks for the kind remarks! Certainly hope we see you again. Meantime, best wishes for continued successful travels. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and 2 teens stayed at the Sunshine Inn last week on our way through SD. The location and proximity to the Badlands was wonderful and Within an easy hour's drive to Sturgis, Needles, and Mt Rushmore. The hotel itself isn't a "fancy, 5 star all suite" chain...what it is, is a clean, welcoming and friendly respite for a tired traveler away from the chaos and noise of the bigger towns. Comfy beds, friendly faces and a surprise presentation by Lakota dancers made our visit a 5 star stay. Thank you John and staff for your kindness and hospitality. As for the few negative reviews on this site, I believe they came from individuals expecting more than what the Sunshine Inn promises to be. As for our family, our expectations were well-exceeded and we will return! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolita88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

My husband and 2 teens stayed at the Sunshine Inn last week on our way through SD. The location and proximity to the Badlands was wonderful and Within an easy hour's drive to Sturgis, Needles, and Mt Rushmore. The hotel itself isn't a "fancy, 5 star all suite" chain...what it is, is a clean, welcoming and friendly respite for a tired traveler away from the chaos and noise of the bigger towns. Comfy beds, friendly faces and a surprise presentation by Lakota dancers made our visit a 5 star stay. Thank you John and staff for your kindness and hospitality. As for the few negative reviews on this site, I believe they came from individuals expecting more than what the Sunshine Inn promises to be. As for our family, our expectations were well-exceeded and we will return! :-)

Thank you so much for staying at the Sunshine Inn and sharing your thoughts and experiences here. As you note, we're anything but "fancy", however we do pride ourselves on being "clean, welcoming and friendly." That you call attention to our "comfy beds" and "friendly faces" only makes us beam with pride and gratitude all the more. I'm glad you happened to be there when a small group of dancers from the nearby Lakota Ways center came over and did a spontaneous presentation of a few of their dances--an occasional treat that our customers enjoy in the confines of our parking lot. We couldn't be happier that your expectations were not only met, but "well-exceeded." We eagerly anticipate your return visit! Thanks again, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is an old and minimally furnished hotel. It is well located to restaurants and the famous Wall Drug Complex. The proprietor is pleasant and helpful. The room was unattractive but clean, the beds were not bad, and the AC worked. There was a musty smell to the air in the room. Woke up with severe allergy and asthma symptoms. Had booked two nights but checked-out after one due to the respiratory issues.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank deevee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

I regret that your asthma and allergy issues proved to be a detriment to the enjoyment of your stay here. We appreciate your notation that our location is a good one and mentioning that our staff is "pleasant and helpful." In keeping with that theme, our staff is also quite scrupulous about maintenance and cleanliness, adhering to the highest standards in the industry--a feature that is frequently mentioned and lauded here on TripAdvisor and other user-review sites. A feature that is often cited is the lack of a musty smell in our rooms, so your comment about it comes as a surprise. I wish you had mentioned something regarding the issue to me as I'm sure we could have found you a room that would have met with your satisfaction. I'm sorry that our furnishings are not suited to your personal tastes, but have no plans to change them. I do thank you for staying at the Sunshine Inn and giving me a chance to address your issues on this forum. Certainly hope your travels go well in the future. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
174 reviews
22.4 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: $69 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing