We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, clean, comfortable & wonderful owner”
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Three of us recently stayed here during our turkey hunt. The price was great. The beds were comfortable and the rooms and bathroom was clean. Cleaning service did a great job everyday and there was always plenty of towels and extra soap. The owner personally came over to introduce himself and ask if everything was good. I have never had a motel owner be so friendly. This was our first time in South Dakota and the motel stay made it a very pleasant trip. We are already planning a return trip and would definitely stay again at this motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks for the nice remarks. We have a fair number of hunters during the Spring and Fall seasons, most of them returnees. We're delighted that you'll be joining that roster. After a long day in the field, hunters who stay here know they can walk just a block to any one of three restaurants and two lounges and come back to a clean room and a friendly reception. I make it a point to greet all of our customers personally and make sure that everything is going to their satisfaction. Sure hope I get a chance to do it again on your next South Dakota hunting adventure. Thanks again for the kind comments. We do our best to live up to the high standards our customers set for us here on TripAdvisor. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 470 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

On a recent road trip, we crashed overnight in Wall. We needed a comfortable sleep for a very reasonable price, and this motel delivered. In early May it was quiet,and being down the street from Wall Drug was a pleasant plus. Their "breakfast" was coffee, orange juice and packaged rolls set up in the corner of the small office, but for the price I expected nothing more.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_go_lucky_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for stressing the "V" word ("Value"), which is really our most important product. We pride ourselves on providing high-value lodging and couldn't be happier that you took note and mentioned it here. We stress cleanliness, comfort and functionality. Add that to our great location just a block away from world-famous Wall Drug Store and all the rest of downtown Wall's plentiful array of shops, restaurants and attractions and you have the ingredients for an excellent and enjoyably night on the road. All of us at the Sunshine Inn appreciate your kind remarks and take them as a challenge to maintain the high-value experience that you describe. Hope to see you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I sure wish there were a way to give more than 5 stars to this hotel, and it's not just because of the great prices, comfort, and pet-friendly policy. We stayed in Wall on our way across South Dakota for a business trip. On our way back west, we got caught in a late spring snowstorm that turned into a 2-day blizzard. Not only did John advise us about the storm conditions as we traveled in to Wall, and call us to see if we were safe on the road a few hours later, but when I-90 was closed, he cut our room rate to almost nothing. I've lived places (like Florida) where you could count on hotel owners' gouging customers during bad weather--it restores my faith in humanity to see the way John responded to our plight. And he even found us a gift bottle of wine to restore our jangling nerves after 40 miles of driving in the blizzard. Stay here again? We'll happily go miles out of our way to do just that, when we head east again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AADDERLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. As a seasonal property we rarely get into a snowstorm situation, but when we do, the Sunshine Inn makes every effort to provide a pleasant, warm shelter while the bad weather passes. We make it a policy to stay in touch with travelers that we know are having a difficult time of it on the road and offer a generous 2nd night discount for those who are stuck in town because of the bad weather. An unexpected expense like an extra night in a hotel room is never a pleasant surprise, so we do try to make it a bit easier on our snowbound guests if necessary. Thanks for noting that in addition to our high-value, comfy rooms, that we do have a few pet-friendly rooms available. All in all, good weather or bad, we're confident that other travelers, like you, will find a stay at the Sunshine Inn to be pleasant and memorable. We thank you so much for being our guest, and certainly hope we get the chance to host you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have visited this Inn twice with a good size group of motorcyclists. I was recommended to John (owner) by another biker friend that has visited and used several times before. John is a very nice man that goes out of his way to make sure your visit is pleasurable. His staff is very friendly and John is very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. Every morning he has rags, bucket, and water hose out for you to wash your bike if you please. He also provide kickstand plates so that your bike wont sink into the HOT pavement. John and his staff have treated very nice both times and i recommended his Inn to all my biker friends heading out to SD.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice/average. Don't have to deal with LOUD bikes since Wall is a ways outside of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MotorcycleCCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for the kind remarks. Helping motorcyclists with their unique requirements is part of the customer-specific policies we have here at the Sunshine Inn. We provide fresh rags for every bike, placed directly on the seat of each motorcycle early in the morning, make sure that bikes have boards available for their kickstands and have a hose off to the side of the building, where we make buckets of soapy water available for those who want to wash their bikes. Our location just a block away from the world famous Wall Drug Store and the rest of Wall's famous and authentic Main Street with its shops, restaurants and other attractions make us a convenient place to park and just walk to wherever our customers want to go. We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you chose to visit us a second time. Certainly hope to see you again! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a no frills hotel but I had the best sleep. Sunshine In is a block from the Wall Drug Store and 8 miles from Badlands NP. We will stay here again.

John the owner is very friendly and was very helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for the succinct summary of what we do best here: provide our customers with a great night's sleep. Our beds are the best in the business, and they're replaced on a regular, rotating schedule to ensure that the most important element of a stay here--a comfortable rest--is what our guests will get when they stay at the Sunshine Inn. Thanks also for mentioning our location, as well as one of our favorite qualities: a great, helpful attitude. We certainly hope we'll see you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We first stayed at the Sunshine Inn on our way to Lead,SD for our wedding at Roughlock Falls 2010.
We knew we were going to stay on our return trip this year 2012
My husband & I were very happy with the room which was clean and well maintained and at a great affordable price.There are pillow top beds too, very comfy. We are simple people, we don't like fancy or high class hotels. That is not who we are, we won't waste our hard earned money or shiny. John is very nice and accommodating. We went back to SD to experience to beauty the land has to offer and to visit our new friends.
John was great telling us about Wounded Knee and other sites he thought would interest us .
John and his wife are AWESOME PEOPLE !! GREAT PLACE , GREAT RATE & GREAT PEOPLE! SUNSHINE INN IS A MUST STAY WHILE IN WALL. We love the Sunshine Inn.
Thanks John :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christnjacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind remarks. I happily accept your generous compliments, but of course you know that this is a team effort, so my staff is equally pleased to read your comments. I try my best to be helpful and friendly, but without a first class, professional staff the Sunshine Inn couldn't possibly be what it is. Thanks also for calling attention to the great value a stay at the Sunshine Inn represents. Giving our guests some ideas about acitivities and local sites of interest that are often off the beaten path is a special pleasure for us here at the Sunshine Inn, as it gives us a chance to share our enthusiasm and love for this place we call home. That this was a return visit for you says a lot about our place, and we take your second stay as the highest of compliments. I can't thank you enough for your kindness, and we certainly hope to see you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for one evening while visiting The Badlands at the end of September. We were referred by the multiple TripAdvisor comments, and were not disappointed. Especially impressed by the cleanliness-bathroom, rug, bed linens; and the room was bright (unllike many chain hotels that are dark on the inside). Enjoyed a good night sleep on the comfortable bed. Lorna checked us in and was very helpful. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for nice comments, especially the note about my assistant manager Lorna's helpfulness and friendly attitude. Clean rooms, comfy beds, helpful staff--those are the elements that we take pride in delivering. We most certainly appreciate your gracious comments, your recommendation, and your intention to stay here again when visiting our beautiful and historic part of the country. Thanks again--and best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
178 reviews
22.4 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: $75 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing