We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a clean stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great price for a clean stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Do not let looks guide you away from this place. It is a good place to stay especially since you will only stay one night. It is clean and the service is very nice. Great comfy bed. Good price for the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanDugg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for the succinct summary of your experience at the Sunshine Inn. We pride ourselves on "great prices," "clean stays," "very nice service," and "comfy beds." Yep, we're an older property, which is obvious from our outside appearance, but age hasn't deterred us from maintaining a clean and well-functioning operation. In fact, it's the source of our pride. Thanks again for the kind remarks--sure hope we see you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    122
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
132
174
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just a half block from Wall Drug and all the shops & dining in Wall, it was a great value. The staff called us all by name every time we walked into th e office. They had cold drinks & snacks available for a very low price, and were very knowlegeable about the area. The room was fairly clean, and the beds comfortable. My only suggestion would be that they clean the bathrooms more thoroughly, including the cabinet under the sink. Overall, though, a good price for a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for the kind remarks. Our excellent location, just one block away from Wall Drug Store and the other shops, restaurants and attractions in downtown Wall make for a handy stopping point--and of course we're always glad to share our knowledge of the area with our customers, who we get to know by name and background as part of our efforts to make visitors comfortable and satisfied with their stays here. Glad that it went so well with you. Apologies for the issue regarding the cabinet beneath your bathroom sink. I certainly would have been glad to rectify it immediately if you'd called it to my attention. Meantime I'll pass the word along to my senior housekeeper, who will make certain that it doesn't recur. Great housekeeping is a standard that we set and meet routinely, so we definitely will not let this incident pass. Hope to see you again sometime. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here because of rave reviews and comments about how nice the owner was. Unfortunately, the owner we read about was not there and the elderly female desk clerk/manager was ok but nothing out of the ordinary. Room was ok but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playasrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Sorry I missed you. I was called away on other business and brought my former manager out of retirement to relieve me for a few days. Glad you found your room to be okay, and certainly hope you feel you got fair value for what you paid. That's what we strive for here at the Sunshine Inn--and believe we succeed at it. Wishing you the best on your future travels, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

How this place is rated #2 for accommodations in Wall is beyond me? The whole room felt damp, especially the bed, had a very hard time trying to fall asleep. We only stayed one night (our last night in South Dakota) and I'm glad it was only the one night, otherwise we would have moved to a different location. My husband said to me, "oh, that bad?" to which I replied, "no, it just wasn't that good". Very small t.v. that the kids fought over for who was able to see it from their bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanbell2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I regret that you found your stay here to be less than satisfactory, and wish you had called me about any problems that you had with your room, as there certainly isn't much I can do about issues that are raised after they occur. I wish you success on the balance of your travels. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in Wall one night at the Sunshine Inn. Room was clean. Parking lot is tight. People were actually using grills next to vehicles. Not anything special. Good location for walking downtown Wall. For the price it was just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for noting that our rates represent a good value to the traveling public. We believe that we're "priced right" and that our customers receive a very good overnight experience for their money. Hope to see you again sometime! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My better half and I stopped in Wall following a day of driving from the western edge of Wisconsin and a few hours of touring the Badlands. We stayed in Wall to continue touring the Badlands and also to see the famous (infamous? Merely well-marketed?) Wall Drug.

The Sunshine Inn is a tiny, cheap motel in a town of tiny, cheap motels. When I say it is a dump, it seems more dumpy from the outside than any of the other motels. But I did not stay in them, and therefore can only speak to the Sunshine Inn.

Pluses: it is right next to Wall Drug, that testament to entrepreneurship and great marketing. Wall Drug is full of cheap crap, vile coffee, not-at-all-cold "ice" water, mediocre food, and tacky spectacle--but I like it. If you like that sort of thing too, it's a short walk down the road, and marginally shorter than any other place in town. Also, despite her general dourness, the innkeeper did recommend a restaurant for dinner that we enjoyed.

Minuses: in brief (for I could go on at length), the rooms are smallish; the air conditioner is extremely loud and woke us repeatedly; the breakfast is only Mrs Fresh's packaged donuts, bad coffee, and sugar wat--, er, "orange juice"; the towels are too small; all the linens are very scratch; the inn-keeper was less than pleasant.

Overall, I suspect this place is about or above-average for Wall. The problem is Wall itself: don't stay there if you don't have to. Stay an hour away in Rapid City and drive out to the Badlands (and Wall Drug, if you must), rather than staying in this silly little town.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelvsVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
So sorry that your experience at the Sunshine Inn didn't conform with those of the vast majority of our customers who post here on TripAdvisor.com. We'll continue to work hard at maintaining a level of value that has been a hallmark of many years of success and regret that you're not likely to be a repeat customer. Best wishes for the balance of your travels. Sincerely, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Nice and clean. Room was great. We would definitely stay here again. Loved how nice the owners were. And helpful! It is a nice place to stay while visiting the Badlands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germanypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thanks for the kind remarks. "Nice and clean" is the kind of accolade that we strive for every day--and being nice to our customers is just part of the total experience that we offer here. Helpfulness with trip planning and advice on where to get the most for your money while here in town is more than another service--it's our way of doing business. We're so glad to know that you'd stay here again, and certainly hope we get the chance to renew our acquaintance with you. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing