We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Sunshine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

BEST SERVICE EVER! This hotel was a fabulous stay! The most helpful, honest, and hospitable service I have ever experienced in a hotel (and I stay in hotels 250 nights a year)! SUPER clean on the inside and very comfortable beds even though it doesn't look brand new on the outside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks, particularly for focusing on our housekeeping, which continues to adhere to strict standards of cleanliness and thoroughness that are maintained by our professional and experienced staff. We also appreciate your calling attention to our beds, which are top-of-the-line in quality and replaced on a regular rotation that makes a comfortable, good night's sleep an important and frequently mentioned component of the "Sunshine Inn experience." As you note, we are an older property, built in the 1980s, but take a great deal of pride in the maintenance and upkeep that keeps so many customers commenting favorably and returning. We certainly hope we get a chance to serve you again and thank you again for commenting here. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 471 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here on a road trip last summer. I had a bad opinion of "motels" (with the doors on the outside), and the Sunshine Inn completely changed my mind! The room was exactly what we needed: clean and a good price. The owner was incredibly helpful to us with local tips as well as tips that helped us along the way in our road trip. If I ever find myself in Wall, SD again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

We enjoyed sharing our knowledge and information about the area with you. Helping customers with their trip planning in the region is one of our favorite functions--certainly gives us a chance to share our love and enthusiasm for and about South Dakota with the thousands of visitors who pass our way every year. Yes, our doors do face outside, as was the custom with motels built during the 1970s and 1980s--somewhat different than more recently constructed properties, but we've found that our customers enjoy the convenience of driving up to their room doors and not having to put up with the hustle and bustle that can often occur inside hallways during busy periods. Thank you for calling attention to the cleanliness of your room and its reasonable price. We continue to pride ourselves on offering great value, and hope we get the chance to do so again on your next visit. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have never met a proprietor who is more genuinely happy to serve his customers, particularly in the small-local-hotel business. We were driving in to Wall late (11pm) and needed two rooms to fit our large family. He not only didn't flinch at hosting a large family, but he gave us the adjoining room for a crazy-low price, and even made sure that he gave us two rooms on top of empty rooms (we were here in the off-season) so that "the kids can jump around all they need to". He thanked me for our business every time we spoke. He even started up the heaters so that our rooms were toasty-warm when we arrived.

This place is also impeccably clean. It's a simple, no-frills motel, but it's in great condition and I can't think of anywhere I would rather stay, particularly for the price.

Others have mentioned it, but it's worth noting again that it's a block from Wall Drug Store and just off the Badlands loop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thanks for the kind remarks. Helping customers out with their particular needs is an important aspect of our service. As you can imagine, large groups in a family-oriented town like ours are frequent guests--and we're equipped to make their overnight stays comfortable, convenient and affordable. Turning two adjacent rooms with connecting doors into a "suite" is usually a great way to accommodate a large family group with plenty of beds, bathrooms and television sets. Thanks for calling attention to our housekeeping and maintenance, which we tend to with great detail and attention, as well as for mentioning our location just a block away from Wall Drug Store and the town's other Main Street attractions. That makes it handy for families as everyone can go back and forth from their rooms without having to pile into a car and travel en masse. We couldn't be more pleased that you're satisfied with the "Sunshine Inn experience" and certainly hope we get a chance to host you here again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Risking a defensive response from owner John (whom we did not encounter), YES, this independent motel is what many reviewers have stated -- clean, spacious, adequate, no-frills, cordial hosts.

But why not kick it up a notch by providing fairly inexpensive amenities such as a luggage rack, hair dryer, a clock/radio and tissue? And how about some wall art (in addition to a mirror)? The room had an extreme prison cell-like sterility.

We appreciated the unexpected perk: a remote for the A/C unit. :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelers-R-US-246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for calling attention to our "clean, spacious, adequate, no-frills" atmosphere and of course your kind remarks about our "cordiality." We believe the great, competitive price we charge (check the AAA book's price comparisons for some documentation for that claim) more than "fills the bill" with respect to our customers' needs. In keeping with our competitive price advantage, the amenities that you list are available on request, per the list provided on our credenzas. In fact, I happily provide many items that are not listed (wine-bottle openers, handicapped seats for our tub/showers, shuttle service around town as necessary, a place to wash motorcycles, the list goes on). I regret that you found our rooms to have a "prison cell-like sterility" but cannot change the decor, which conforms to standards generally accepted throughout the hospitality industry. Happily, the TripAdvisor listing includes numerous photos of our exterior and interior and I hope that prospective guests will review them to make sure our property satisfies their physical and aesthetic requirements. Certainly would love to see you at our motel again, but can assure you that other properties in the area are likely to have decorative features more suited to your tastes. Thanks again for staying and taking the time to comment. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Our family stayed here during our summer trip out west. First, the town of Wall, SD is worth a stop. Wall Drug is a fantastic place...what a great roadside attraction! And staying in Wall gives you a perfect entry point for exploring the Badlands. The Sunshine Inn is not flashy, but the price is excellent, and the location is perfect as you can easily walk to Wall Drug. The place was clean. The owner is very friendly. No complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

We appreciate your positive comments and hope you'll come back to re-experience the Sunshine Inn. As an older property (built in 1977) we are certainly anything but flashy. However, as you graciously note, we do our best to provide service, comfort and value. Thanks for noting our location, just a block away from Wall Drug Store and the rest of downtown Wall's "old western" charm, including shops, restaurants and attractions. Would love to see you again. Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Ditto to what most reviewers have already said...Extremely clean, comfortable beds, linens, and room. The Sunshine Inn has everything a traveler needs for the night and, if not, all you have to do is ask! The rooms have plenty of space and they even offer free roll-aways. The WiFi worked better than at any of the chain hotels we stayed in during our 2 wk. trip! John was the most gracious host, even offerring to put the coffee on a little early, knowing we were hitting the road before sunrise. One tip: If you're trying to bed down early like we were to get an early a.m. start on the road, request an upstairs room so you don't hear the folks above you walking around :-) Great value - comfortable room - wonderful oasis for wearly travelers!

Room Tip: If you're trying to bed down early like we were to get an early a.m. start on the road, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasmama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you for the kind remarks. I appreciate that you made a note of simply asking me for something you might need to make your evening as accommodating and comfortable as possible. Your comments reinforce our commitment to value and comfort, and we intend to maintain the same level of service that you experienced. Hope to see you again. John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Sunshine Inn early October 2011. We decided to stay here after reading all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. And they are all true! What a great place to stay, all thanks to the owner John and of course its location near Badlands NP, Wall Drug, the Wounded Knee museum (go there!) and many more.
OK, it's not a Hilton, but its cleanliness can compete with any major 5-star hotel. Their free wifi-service is excellent, the best we've had on our 4-week trip. And John goes the extra mile to make his customers happy. When my cell phone broke down and I needed to call my family on an important day, he helped me out.
Besides, we were very impressed by his extensive knowledge of our country, The Netherlands. When we'll be in Amsterdam we will look for the Wall Drug sign near the railway station.
We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to South Dakota.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik-Elsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendlysdinnkeeper, Owner at Sunshine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

It was my pleasure hosting you nice folks from The Netherlands, a country I've visited several times and can not get enough of. Thank you for your kind remarks--we make personal service, going beyond the basics, an important part of our business. I especially appreciate your calling attention to our powerful wi-fi signal, which is boosted by two routers and a repeater strategically placed throughout the building to give every room a "very good to excellent signal." Certainly hope to see you again sometime. Who knows, we may meet up in Amsterdam some day! Best wishes, John (owner, Sunshine Inn)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
179 reviews
22.4 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: 608 Main Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wall
#1 Family Hotel in Wall
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: $75 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms approved by American Automobile Association, one block from Wall Drug Store, free Wi Fi, complimentary juice, rolls, and coffee in the morning. Clean and well-maintained, very competitive rates--locally and independently owned, with owner on premises. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Wall
Sunshine Motel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing