We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!”
Review of Super 8 Wall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Wall
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Let me begin by saying we are not normally a family that stays at Super 8 Motels. We usually good for the "inn & suites" set, like Hampton Inn, etc. But Wall, SD, doesn't have many options, so Super 8 it was. Service was great, the beds were quite comfy, and the free breakfast came with decent selection (eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt). Admittedly the rooms were quite small, but for three of us (two adults and a 5 year old), it worked fine for one night. If you are passing through, this is a good place to stop for a night!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane O, General Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
So happy you stayed with us here at the Super 8 in Wall! Also, thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. Come and see us again if traveling in our area. Happy Travels, Lane GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    123
    59
    16
    10
See reviews for
116
123
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

This Super 8 is fine for a night's sleep, but that is about all. It is a cheaper alternative to the rates in Rapid city down the road, which is hard to believe at the peak-season prices they were charging - but it was still cheaper. The hotel is very dated and in need of a serious refresh. The most noticeable thing in our room was the tile floor (not ceramic) which was so old that your shoes stuck to it from its deterioration. The room otherwise was fine other than a shampoo odor from the carpet, which will not bother most unless you have allergies. The filtered ice water at the famous Wall Drug may be great, but if the water coming out of the tap at the Super 8 is typical for Wall SD, you may want to opt for the bottled stuff to drink. In fairness to the hotel, they were supplying bottled water in the lobby, although I was not warned at the desk just how bad the water tasted until I had already had some.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane O, Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Super 8. Yes, the water here is wall is warm out of the tap, but it does make for a nice shower! We are always making changes and updating, stop again if traveling thru our area. Travel safe, Lane GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Mt
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

This Super 8 was a good hotel for the brand. Our 2-queen room was small, but clean; the bathroom was also small, but functional. The room had a decent sized flat screen TV and good channel selection. The room probably would have been noisy from neighboring rooms, but we kept the fan on all night and didn't hear anything. Although not the quality of higher end hotels, we were pleased with the breakfast -- pre-made frozen omelets, good cinnamon rolls, juice, cereal, bread, and frozen waffles. I was moving my son to college and we had an upstairs room, so it was quite a chore moving all our luggage up and down the stairs. The area around the hotel was safe for walking, and we were able to walk down to Wall Drug late in the evening (but it was closed).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane O, Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Happy you stayed with us at the Wall Super 8! Please stay with us again, we will do our best to get a ground floor room next time. Safe Travels, Lane, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurley, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Not bad we were down stairs no elevator for second floor. The free breakfast was good. Within walking distance to downtown not far from Walls Drug Store. Right off of I-90. Wall Drugs is a good place for dinner. Also easy access to Badlands. Road in front of the hotel Is part of the loop.

Room Tip: No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane O, Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Super 8 in Wall. Our easy access to the badlands and the drug store is a plus! We are easy to find, right off I-90. Happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast! Please come and stay with us again, we look forward to it. Lane, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lake
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is the nicest Super 8 I have ever stayed in. I don't know how old it is, but it seemed rather new. It was very clean and decorated very nicely. I loved the large murals of badlands scenes that were used as headboards. The breakfast was also great and even included omelets. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fred11GreenLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane O, Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Super 8. The headboards are a fun touch in the room, they just make you want to go to the badlands don't they? The omelets are a new breakfast item, happy to hear you enjoyed them. Come and see us and the badlands again soon! Happy Travels, Lane GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I checked in and was given key cards to my room. We put our luggage in and left for the evening. When we got back around 10pm I found a post-it note on our door telling us to go to the front desk immediately.

We were then told we need to switch rooms because they needed to do maintenance on our room first thing in the morning. The 4 of us were highly annoyed. She didn't offer an apology or any sort of reimbursement for having to change rooms.

The room itself was outdated with yellow/green walls and fixtures which had seen better days. The A/C ran loudly, the fan in the bathroom ran loudly, the fridge ran loudly. It sounded like everything could use a tune up.

All-in-all I was not thrilled with Super 8.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane O, Manager at Super 8 Wall, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Sorry for the trouble of switching rooms, we are trying to change bathroom fans and general "going thru" of each room. We just got new refridgerators as well. Come back and check our updates if traveling in our area again. Lane, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
127 reviews
22.3 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Wall

Property: Super 8 Wall
Address: 711 Glenn Street, I-90 Exit 110, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Wall 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Wall
Wall Super Eight
Wall Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing