We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again.”
Review of Welsh's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welsh's Motel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice owner, a bit dated and small rooms, but very clean. We stayed here and rented 4 rooms with friends on a recent motorcycle trip. Very reasonably priced, under $60. No frills but a nice place to stay. Be sure to bring your own blow dryer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Welsh's Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were just passing through and spotted this quaint motel right off the interstate. Located in a good area and within walking distance to gas stations, restaurants and exploring. People were super nice and welcoming and the room came at a good price. The room was huge for two double beds; dated but very clean. Beds were very comfy; carpet was aged but clean and soft. Bathroom was VERY pink but was a full bathroom.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A bit late with this review but I doubt that things have changed. We have stayed here several times over the past 8 years. This place has always provided good value and it is nice to escape the feel of being in a chain motel. Owners are friendly. Our rooms are comfortable there. Rooms are clean. Easy access to highway. Staying here is like stepping back into a road trip from the past.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iberiandream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel is right off the interstate, drive right up to your room. Wall livery is across the parking lot, so 75 yards away you can get anything you need like drinks, snacks, and so on. There is not a pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDFLHPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

You get what you pay for, Beds were good but place was old, minimal amenities, a carpet that needed cleaning very bad. Good for a night but that's it. TV small for the room, no toiletries. It did have coffee 24 hours. No overnight staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MontanaRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I love love love the pink tile bathroom and hope they never change it! Plus, the bathroom was spotless. The beds were comfy and I think the pillows might have been down feather. We enjoyed the nice little chairs outside with clean cushions on them. There was also an ice machine and free coffee. Three gas stations with food are across the street. We loved riding our bikes around this cute little town, and then of course the badlands are just down the street 7 miles. Don't miss the sage creek rim drive, you will see a lot of wildlife there early in the morning, and the solitude is worth the gravel road. South Dakota is unbelievably beautiful. I love to stay in places like this when we travel and wish there were more as clean and tidy as Welsh's.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room on the back side of the hotel, facing an empty lot. It was quiet and nice to sit t...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArizonaDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great place to stay! Nice and clean!
We enjoyed our stay and conversation with the guy at the front desk(sorry I fogor his name)
The room has a classic look but is clean and well kept.
Good deal for the price

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDrider19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
283 reviews
22.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welsh's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welsh's Motel

Address: 312 South Blvd., Wall, SD 57790
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing