We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a great find!

Love, love, love these little cabins!
Comfortable, super clean and a great place to stay when exploring Badlands.
Microwave, fridge and coffee maker.
Bed super comfortable.

A great ambience and attention to detail.
Family of 4 (2 adults, 2 tweens) - had a cabin overlooking field and was just perfect.

Continental breakfast very basic but adequate snack to start the day (we got an early start on the second morning so missed breakfast as it did not start until 8am)

A short drive to “town” to Wall Drug Store and other touristy shops.
Stayed mid April so very quiet but could imagine how crowded it could get in peak season.

This is a great place to stay to explore the Badlands - you can do Badlands as a quick drive though or spend the day exploring - we spend about 4 hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 636 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Badlands area, Wall Drug, and the National Minuteman Missile site. Our cabin was very cozy, clean, and quiet. We liked the western-themed décor. The breakfast buffet was small, but good. You get a free bag of ice for each night that you stay which is great. Each cabin also has an outdoor grill and a picnic table. Unfortunately it was too windy and cold during our stay, but we would have used them if we could. The hot water runs out after one shower so you have to wait 20 minutes or so between showers for the water to heat back up but that’s no big deal. The only problem we had was that the heater in the cabin kept constantly turning on and off every minute or so all night long, but at least it worked and kept the cabin warm. We told the reception desk about it and they gave us a partial refund and said they would replace the heater which is good. We would stay here again the next time we are in Wall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDUB409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed in these cabins on four instances when traveling for work. I am continually very impressed by the property and the staff. The staff is friendly and very accomodating. The cabins are immaculately clean, well maintained, and unique. Definitely a great option when the weather is good as there grills and outside seating at each cabin. The cabins are on the outer edge of wall, so you are still close to restaurants, bars, and gas stations.

I definitely recommend this place to all travelers, including business travelers!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A first class place to stay in Wall, South Dakota. Each cabin is well decorated with fine furniture, Western artwork and is conveniently located near the town of Wall. The cabins were built very well and there is no noise from a room next to you when staying there. They are immaculate in cleanliness and the staff are pleasesant and attentive to your needs..

Room Tip: The cabins are a mere 6 miles from the entrance to the Badlands National Park and about 5 miles from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dane1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We didn't book a single reservation on a 1.5-week trip West, booking everything the day-of and going only off TripAdvisor reviews. This was our first stop and we weren't disappointed. Though we only stayed one night, the staff were friendly and flexible, the cabins cozy and clean, and they were close enough to town that we could walk to dinner ... great to stretch our legs after a long day in the car! I'd recommend them to anyone looking for a comfortable place with a lot more character than a budget hotel.

Would have gotten a "5" if not for a little bit of highway noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyB_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed only one night as we were heading back home from the Black Hills and wished we had planned to be here longer. The property is well situated by the Badlands and Wall. The cabins are clean and well maintained. Everything was very comfortable. Loved having the porch. Ours faced a field, and it was very nice to sit out there in the evening. Don't forget to pick up some doughnuts at Wall! They're worth every calorie!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meyerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a visit to Badlands National Park. Very clean and comfortable. Also located conveniently to the park. Breakfast is included (which is good since food options around are very limited!)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jbtraveler_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing