We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Immaculate”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A spacious and immaculate cabin with a full kitchen Very convenient for the amazing Badlands, the fascinating Prairie Homestead, Wall Drug (of course) and Rapid City airport. We stayed for three nights very happily. The manager and the staff were fantastic - the flies were a bit of a nuisance but a fly swat was provided! Our cabin looked over fields and there were some beautiful sunsets. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    122
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
247
232
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We first stayed here the summer they opened and have been here many times since. one of the nicest cabins we have stayed at in the country. The price is always reaonable for the tourist area it is and the rooms are always clean and very comfortable. a short jaunt from town and right next to the badlands.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brett z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D c
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with rv thru south Dakota and child becomes sick so we decided to stay in hotel. Could not have picked a better place. Cute comfortable room with great tvs and all amenities. Such a good value!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marydruppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladbrook
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a great time while staying there two nights with family including two grandsons. We had SMOREs around a fire the first night. That was great to get to know your fellow campers. We are used to having an indoor pool when we travel. That is all I would add.

Room Tip: Needs a good pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The "cabin" is pretty much like a hotel room no connected to another hotel room. Nice to be able to drive right to your room and unload. Nice to have two queen (vs. double) beds. To like this place, you really need to like a north woods vibe. The cabin décor is a little over the top, but furnishings are very nice quality. Appreciated the fridge and microwave and rental movies. Our kids loved the playground. Complaints: hot tub was out of order; the young guy who checked us in had zero customer service skills; breakfast didn't start until 7:30am (and we needed to get going a bit earlier). Breakfast was just OK - the set up is a bit crowded and things like a common peanut butter jar scare me a bit. The woman (Polly?) at the front desk in the evening and morning was super friendly and helpful and treated our kids like they were special. I would definitely stay here again if in Wall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyinMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My two young daughters and I were passing throught town and were unaware that it was Sturgis bike week. I thought we would have no problem getting a hotel in rural Wall South Dakota, but I was wrong. Not only was the whole town booked, but the whole state seemed to be booked. I went into the frontier cabin store and to check availability and the night manager was amazing! When she found out we couldn't book a room anywhere in town she called surrounding hotels in the next couple towns. She said she wouldn't let us sleep on the road and refused to let us leave, because there was a big storm coming. She had us sleep in her personal appartment above the store! Not only was she kind, she was the most professional manager I have ever met! I thought she was the owner, because she represented frontier cabins so well. Wow, give her a promotion!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcangel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

There is not a lot to choose from in Wall. While this is not a 5-start place, it is very nice and the family enjoyed our night stay. The cabin is very cute. The campground is very nice - play area for the kids, a Jacuzzi, and an outdoor pavilion. Wi-fi was hit or miss, thankfully the television has a medium assortment of channels for the kids. Room was very clean. There are flies and the room had a fly strip. Given their location, I don't think there is much more they can do. The morning breakfast was okay - mostly donuts, waffles and cereal - with little fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpd_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
46.5 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing