We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little cabin”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice little cabin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this cabin. it was extremely clean and the decor was really cute and woodsy. We had a west facing cabin and so enjoyed the sunset as we sat on the 2 seater bench outside our room. Our grandson accompanied us and he especially liked sitting around the campfire with other vacationers sharing 's'mores and stories. Very nice.
Breakfast was busy, the food was standard and a good start to the day.
I would definitely recommend this as a stopover on a road trip to the SD

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heppalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    120
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
246
228
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, MN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our cabin was well appointed and clean. The breakfast was busy but it was enough to get you going with hard boiled eggs, sweets/carbs, and yogurt to get you going. Our view outside of our door was so peaceful. We would/will stay here again if we are on our way through. Also, you can buy ice cream treats in the "lobby" for very inexpensive at night. The hot tub was broken, but we didn't intend to use it anyhow. That part of the property felt sort of camping/KOA - like. Overall, a very nice place to stay. Very close to the freeway, but we didn't hear any road noise. Ask for furthest away from the road-- we had cabin 28 and it was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnegrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The cabin was well made, roomy, and the beds were comfortable. The cabins was built from pine, that had been locally harvested. It was very close to the highway and easy to find, but far away from downtown Wall to be quiet in the morning and evenings.
We enjoyed the bag of ice that was given for each day of your stay as well as the huge ice maker. It was crowded in the store where they served breakfast so we just took it back to the cabin and ate on the porch table and chairs.
The owner and family were very courteous and helpful.
On the road directly leading to the Badlands or close to interstate for Rapid City.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin overlooking the meadow and away from the highway. There are also tee-pees that look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcvanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This motel consists of two rows of log cabins, all of recent vintage, with the inside edges of the logs cut to form solid wood paneling as the interior walls and with most of the furnishings made of logs. It would probably be a termite’s favorite lodging. Our cabin faced a field that had been harvested for hay; the other line faced the road to the Badlands. We had a porch with chairs on which we would have watched the sunset but for a thunderstorm. The place was clean and well furnished, with a flat screen TV, Wi-Fi, air conditioner, and small refrigerator. The complex has several large teepees in which kids can play, as well as a play structure with swings and slides. There are also statues of bison and other indigenous animals. Each cabin has a small charcoal grill available, and there is also a gas grill available to guests, along with a hot tub and sauna. Breakfast was served in the office, a large store selling merchandise including Native American jewelry, western themed items, and fireworks. While not the most extensive spread of food, it was certainly more than adequate. This motel was, frankly, far better than we expected. I can also see where it might be perfect for a family with kids. It’s well located; we walked from the motel to Wall Drug and back. Unless your kids MUST have a pool, this is a great break from cookie-cutter chain motels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredRNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

It is too bad there is not moe to do right in Wall, because this little hotel is a destination! We stayed 3 nights to take an extended Badlands experience before heading on to the Black Hills. Hotels are a dime a dozen and we would be staying in a lot of them on this vacation, so thought this little cabin would be a nice change for us. It was the height of our hotel stays for sure! VERY comfortable beds, wonderful showers, nicely appointed with large frig and microwave, delightful "cabin fare" decorating, average though adequate breakfast in a clean and kitchy dining area with an outdoor option, incredibly helpful and courteous staff, free ice-all you want every day, with VERY easy access to Badlands and the town of Wall! The hotel is right off the highway, but you never hear the road noise...at least we didn't. Sunsets were gorgeous from our little patio complete with log chairs for porch sittin'. There is a picnic table and grill for BBQ if you don't want to eat out. Nice playground for the kids. The hot tub was not working while we were there which was upsetting. I highly recommend this place even if only for one night. For an adventure, you can even stay in a REAL teepee if you like!

Room Tip: If you stay on "field" side rather than on the "road" side, you get the sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We only stayed one night although it was easy to see how comfortable our unit would have been for an extended stay. The wood cabin is beautifully decorated inside with solid wood furniture. It is extremely clean and everything required by a traveller has been provided. The management is very friendly and helpful. If we were to return to the Badlands we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Everyone had encouraged us not to just rush through the Badlands so we decided to stay one night in Wall. This definitely the best place in Wall. The cabin was nice. It was very cluttered. You definitely don't feel like you are in a camp ground since you are right by the highway and everything is paved. However we slept well and the kids loved it for one night. They really liked the hottub. The breakfast was fair. Lots of flies but they were kind enough to have flyswatters to help in the battle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MenomonieTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
46.6 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing