We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very clean, modern log cabins. Accommodating staff. The cabin slept 6 - but just barely. The store is super crowded with a wonderful, eclectic variety of souvenirs, fireworks and jewelry. Minutes from the Badlands - which are SO worth seeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 636 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a good place to stay, clean, nice, quiet, close to Wall (disappointing), Badlands, Minuteman. Stayed two nights (July 13+14, 2013) called for late check-in and staff was very accommodating. They have a lot of inventory in their store but did not see anyone making huge purchases, so based on that I do not see this place making it financially.

Room Tip: Request a room that faces west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Great place in Wall just off the interstate. Very comfortable nice cabins with all of the amenities of a hotel. Everything is brand spankin new and someone plunked down some serious cash to build everything. Very well done. Nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZDeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to the Black Hills. Check in was quick and efficient and we had no problems during our stay. This was around the same price as a standard hotel room, but a little quieter since you are not right up next to the adjacent units because you park your vehicle between them. The cabin was clean and beautifully decorated. Ours faced the meadow but, due to a blowing rainstorm, we couldn't sit on the porch and enjoy it. I didn't realize that breakfast was included so that was a bonus. Biscuits and gravy, muffins, sweet rolls, cereal, coffee, juice, etc. While we loaded the car the next morning, our daughter played on the playground located in the middle of the complex, next to the hot tub, which we didn't get to use either because of the storm.
Overall, a nice place located just off the interstate and a short drive to downtown Wall or to the Badlands.
We will definitely stay here again the next time we come through.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkmsMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were starting an organized tour of the National Parks and wanted to have some time on our own first so picked Wall to stay in and then visit the Badlands. The cabins are really good, very comfortable, new and very clean. We had a cabin overlooking the field and not the road so that was good. Parking is right next to each cabin and you have your own porch. the breakfast was adequate and welcome.
Then you have to go to the Wall Drug store for which you have been signs for miles!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the field not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here in late June on our first trip to South Dakota and rented one of the cabins for a night. The cabin was beautiful and comfortable; ours looked like the images in the gallery and the parking spot was right next to the cabin which made for easy unloading. There are two rows of cabins, with the doors facing away from the center road, and in between the rows of cabins are several tipis with outdoor fire rings that can be rented as well. The playground looked fantastic, although due to several hailstorms moving through while we were there, we didn't get to try it out; there is a hot tub perfectly located (along with seating) right next to the playground so adults can enjoy the evenings too. The gift shop was fascinating to look through (fireworks galore, and an amazing carved moose antler) and the whole place was neat, clean, tidy, and thoroughly enjoyable. We were able to get a reservation about a week out from our trip when few other hotels in the area had availability, and we will definitely stay here again when our travels lead through Wall!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

While individual, free-standing units, these are really very new construction, clean, well-appointed motel rooms, not rustic camp cabins, which is not a bad thing! Comfortable beds, flat screen tv, adirondack chairs on little porch area. Have bbq grills for guests, playground for kids, decent continental breakfast included. Situated at tip of road through Badlands, and about 5 mins. from Wall Drugs. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keatyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
180 reviews
22 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing