We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of like an experience in an experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We loved this cute place. It was built from the the heart and had so many special touches from the wooden furniture to the wall decorations. The staff was lovely too, they made us feel like we were part of the family. It's the nicest place to stay in Wall, and they have the individual cabins facing out into a field that makes you feel like you are somewhere really far away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 637 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in a two bed cabin and it wasn't any larger than a small motel room. The cabins are tastefully decorated, but the beds in our cabin were not comfortable. There is a big log on the side of the bed and if you are not careful, you will hurt your leg getting in and out. The mattress seemed worn out and every time you turned over, it made terrible noise. I may stay again, but I do not want number 16. I will ask about the beds in the future. It probably is the best place to stay in Wall inspite of my negative comments.. No breakfast until 7am. That was too late for us as we wanted to get an early start to our day's drive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobkat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night in April 2013. The motel is in a good location, it's right off the highway on the way to the Badlands national park. It's on the other side of the freeway from downtown Wall (so not exactly walking distance) but that led to a quiet nights sleep. Room was clean and looked brand new. Extras (decorations, etc) were fitting and well put together for a log cabin.

The only issues we had here were that our car didn't fit in the designated space because there was a tree blocking the space, and the heater didn't quite keep the room warm enough.

Also, since the cabins are fairly new, they still have a smell of wood and lacquer. If you are sensitive to those things, keep it in mind.

Overall it was a great stay. We had a view overlooking a field and it was incredibly peaceful. Cute cabins!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thtrebuf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in one of their cabins. We had reserved one of the cabins with a king size bed some months in advance. I'm not really sure what happened regarding that cabin but they were out of that type of cabin when we checked in. I wasn't very pleased but they went ahead and upgraded us to one of the cabins with a kitchenette at no additional charge. At least they were nice and willing to make up for their mistake. We actually ended up really liking the cabin that they gave us. They offered a free breakfast over at the store each morning but we liked our cabin so much that we decided to eat breakfast there each morning. The cabin was very nice and comfortable. We were also very close to downtown Wall. We would definitely recommend the cabins to others.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessLea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am planning our next family vacation out West and I have learned to trust Tripadvisor during the research process regarding lodging and meals. I wanted to return the favor by recommending Frontier Cabins. This operation was home to our first nights stay last August. If we were going to visit this area again, we would make this place our first priority for booking lodging. Beautiful cabins that were clean and affordable was important; however, the service provided and the morning breakfast put this place over the top! Genuine service was refreshing and so was the hot & clean hot tub. This place was an incredible value and was our best nights stay last year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2017bigshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here on a road trip west and had an amazing stay! It was quiet, had a great view, and the customer service was great. The cabin had a rustic feel, comfy bed, porch area to enjoy a glass of wine watching the sunset, and an amazing breakfast the next morning to start our day - and the price was great too!

Room Tip: Get a cabin facing the field to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbreid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you're planning on staying in Wall I would highly recommend staying at this property! The cabins are wonderful - decorated with a log cabin feel. Continental breakfast in the morning was wonderful---the lady working was so cute and had great stories to tell. Very close to everything in town and cute little porches on the cabins to sit outside and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
144 reviews
22 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing