We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacations started the right way!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Thief River Falls
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vacations started the right way!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am planning our next family vacation out West and I have learned to trust Tripadvisor during the research process regarding lodging and meals. I wanted to return the favor by recommending Frontier Cabins. This operation was home to our first nights stay last August. If we were going to visit this area again, we would make this place our first priority for booking lodging. Beautiful cabins that were clean and affordable was important; however, the service provided and the morning breakfast put this place over the top! Genuine service was refreshing and so was the hot & clean hot tub. This place was an incredible value and was our best nights stay last year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2017bigshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    132
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
262
239
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here on a road trip west and had an amazing stay! It was quiet, had a great view, and the customer service was great. The cabin had a rustic feel, comfy bed, porch area to enjoy a glass of wine watching the sunset, and an amazing breakfast the next morning to start our day - and the price was great too!

Room Tip: Get a cabin facing the field to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbreid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you're planning on staying in Wall I would highly recommend staying at this property! The cabins are wonderful - decorated with a log cabin feel. Continental breakfast in the morning was wonderful---the lady working was so cute and had great stories to tell. Very close to everything in town and cute little porches on the cabins to sit outside and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Oh my gosh I loved this place. We stayed in a cabin with two beds. Excellent value for the price versus the quality of what you get. The room had two massive beds, the cabin felt spacious. The decorations are very rustic but the cabin is perfectly clean and comfortable. Very cozy, and despite the rustic decor everything feels modern and new. Service was very friendly - Joan was our point of contact and was very helpful and welcoming. We were arriving later at night and she made sure our cabin was warmed up (since it was freezing outside!) and open and ready for us and was a sweetheart in person when we met her the next day. Breakfast is in the store next door and was not very impressive but that's the only downside about this place. But Wall and especially the Badlands WERE impressive and Frontier Cabins is the perfect place to stay to visit both these iconic locations from!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I really liked these cabins. They were clean and included all the necesities. The breakfast was pretty good too. The store includes an impressive selection of fireworks. Would have given 5 stars, but the A/C in the room barely kept the room tolerable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

On the way back from the Black Hills, we stopped at the Frontier Cabins on Glenn Street in Wall, SD. This is not your usual blah motel - the Frontier Cabins feature picturesque handcrafted furniture and decor. A gorgeous place, it looked as if the rental for each cabin should be $300 or $400. Instead, in high season we paid a little over $100 for a cabin that was lovely in a western style and very well maintained. This would be an outstanding place for a family reunion, or a great stop for anyone going to the Black Hills, the Badlands, or just west through South Dakota.

Room Tip: We were shown two or three cabins. Since it's such a great value, we'd suggest reserving ah...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthiana, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here our first night in SD. The cabin was clean and it was decorated very cute. The linens were great and the staff was very helpful. I was super happy with my choice. I Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watergirl2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing