We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor business”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Barnhart, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor business”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I called and made a reservation and even got conformation on the price and my cabin number.
then days later i get a call they wanted a higher rate even after they confirmed price and my conformation number. They told me they didnt realize it was a holiday weekend . Thats my mistake i canceled and they didnt even offer me a 2nd thought thats just not some place i would stay money verse making custmers happy. Not good business

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontier_Cabins, General Manager at Frontier Cabins Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
The Holiday Rate is set and somehow we overlooked that during booking you reservation. That was our mistake and I'm sorry . We are not allowed to make changes to the established rates. We do our best to accommadate all guests and potential guests but we are human and sometimes make an error. If your ever traveling our way again please give us another chance.

Frontier Cabins Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    122
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
247
232
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. catharines
Level Contributor
357 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great atmosphere, spacious and spotless. Very cosy and well decorated. It was a dream spot while travelling. The only thing was every time the heater kicked on it made me wake up, this had its advantages though as we were able to hear a great horned owl calling early in the morning. Breakfast in the morning and a complimentary bag of ice for the cooler. WHO ELSE LETS YOU HAVE ICE FOR A COOLER ANYMORE!!!!!!!!!
Check out the gift shop for higher than usual quality authentic native jewlery. Everyone we delt with was magnificent. Benefit of owner/operator. If you do not stay here it will be your loss. If you want to be in the city then stay in the city, want to be close to the grasslands and have a great cabin experience stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a welcoming and relaxing stay.

We had a cabin with two queen beds that were fluffy and warm.

The cabin was super clean and all of the linens were top quality. The coffee maker, fridge, flat-screen T.V., and powerful heater all added to the comfort.

The cabin is decorated very cute and the atmosphere of the grounds is wonderful.

Highly recommended for families with young children as well as a romantic getaway.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had Cabin #18 that was in the middle of the camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rekabecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay at Frontier Cabins in Wall. We were greeted warmly and given all of the details about the cabin. The individual cabins were decorated like a mountain cabin, big firm beds with excellent pillows. Breakfast was somewhat limited, but found more than enough to fill you up. Joan is an over an above first person to meet. Matti does an excellent job of putting the rooms in proper order. The view looking west at sunset is remarkable.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the west facing rooms for the sunset and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The king cabin is about the same size as a hotel room. Our room was not clean. I found dirty cups from previous guests. The bathroom door wouldn't shut. The showers had no water pressure. Overall I would never stay in Wall again. Mitchell and Rapid City are much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontier_Cabins, General Manager at Frontier Cabins Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Your cabin must have been totally overlooked by our housekeeping crew. This is definitely not customary for us as you can tell by other comments such as "spotless". I'm very sorry this happened and we will do our best to make sure it never happens again. Thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Never before have I seen monogrammed towels in a log cabin. Spotless. Beds are divine from the most comfortable mattress to the high thread-count sheets. Oh yes, and did I say
spotless?! These are the most beautiful cabins you will ever find. It's worth a trip just to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Easily the best hotel value I have ever stayed anywhere in the world - and I've stayed in great hotels in over 25 countries. 100 bucks for a very clean, charming cabin with kitchenette that sleeps 6. Did I mention free breakfast? How about a fire pit for s'mores inside a real working tee pee? How about sunset outside your front door? How about a friendly family staff that provides a colander and utensils for roasting marshmallows with a smile. We stayed one night and literally came back a few days later, unplanned, after our trip to the nearby Black Hills. We will be back - I hope soon again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnW2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
46.5 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing