We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“These cabins are the most beautifully decorated & cozy..comfortable accomadations we had during our entire vacation!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frontier Cabins Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“These cabins are the most beautifully decorated & cozy..comfortable accomadations we had during our entire vacation!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

So beautifully decorated..very friendly..service was above the top..reasonable prices.. Wish I had a place this pretty in the north woods of WI to vacation in!!!,,thanks for this wonderful experience =}}

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisssBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    120
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
245
227
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We liked this place so much, we stayed another night on our trip home. The cabins are clean and comfy. We appreciated having a little separation between the bedroom and kitchen since it was easier to get the kids to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our cabin was really neat, nicely decorated. It was very comfortable sleeping and relaxing after a day in the badlands. The whole complex is clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and they had a nice store w/ some nice gifts and stuff. Nothing bad to say at all. The price was very reasonable. You wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEFF C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed only one night on our way to the Black Hills, and wished we had time for more. We were able to get the family suite, with two queens and a sofa bed, as well as a kitchenette. The view from our rough-hewn patio chairs was pure prairie - wide open spaces and a terrific sunset. Be sure to ask for the side away from the road to get that view from your front window.

The cabins are not just comfortable, but precious! They are wood inside and out, with rough-hewn furniture and western themes. Even our towels had a silhouette of canoes decorating them.

Wall Drug is right in town, but you would do well to do your shopping in the store on sight. Prices are excellent, and the variety of western goods is staggering. Real fur hats and native american goods, toys for the tots and even fireworks.

The service is absolutely personal. I'm sure the proprietors would do anything they can to make your stay just right.

Enjoy this gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the back side, away from the road. The family suite has plenty of room and a complete kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanneM41353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The title says it all - fabulous. The cabins are spotless. Furniture and beds are comfortable. Great touches thought the cabin. There is a nice (modern) play area for the kids in the center of the cabins along with a large grill, bar, hot tub and sauna. The teepees are a great addition for a different type of "lodging". Breakfast if great. Even if you don't eat the biscuit and gravy, try the fresh made biscuits by themselves! The owners and staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. My traveling companion left her kindle reader in the room. When she realized the following day and called, the kindle had been turned in and they mailed it to her. After a day visiting the Badlands, sitting outside the cabin in the evening watching the sky light up from a storm off in the distance......just can not be beat. Request a room facing away from the street. Also, make time for the Wounded Knee Museum in Wall. From the outside you may be inclined to pass it by, but don't, it is excellent. I have no reservations staying here again and I definitely recommend it to anyone planning a day or a few days in Wall.

Room Tip: Some cabins fact the road. Ask for room facing away from the road. We were in #12 with a street was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandTraveler104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We could only stay at these immaculately kept cabins for one night but wish it could have been longer. When we pulled in it was obvious this site is cared for. Everywhere was clean and neat. There is a children's playground, a barbecue with kitchen area and a hot tub plus a very well stocked gift shop with a small section of snacks. Complimentary breakfast is served to one side of the gift shop with a reasonable selection of food. The cabins are spacious, spotless and very well equipped although the rustic decor may not appeal to everyone. We watched sunset from our deck. Wifi is free. We asked for a quiet cabin so were at the back of the site facing fields. The front of the site faces the scenic road to the Badlands but it never looked busy to me. Some traffic noise can be heard outside from I90 which is very close but the windows are double-glazed so we heard nothing inside the cabin. It takes hard work to keep up this standard but it shows.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Rapid City. If they would have been closer we could have stayed longer, but didn't want the extra hours in the car every day. The staff was fantastic! So friendly and helpful. Cabins and bedding were clean and beautiful. Towels were soft. We had a queen bed with the pull out couch for our daughter. She slept great and it was the most comfortable bed we had for our 8 day trip. Since you have your own cabin there's no sharing of walls or having anyone in a room above so it was nice and quiet. Gift shop was big and had a nice variety of items, plus handy snacks and things if you wanted to use the grill. This is a great place and you won't regret staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#16 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.5 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing