We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation option for Badlands”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

After reading good reviews here we booked for one night...place is so nice we decided to stay for two. The barbecue facilities are a real bonus...we're South African and were really missing our braai (barbecue) and not many places have facilities so this was a bonus.

The gift shop here is also great...much nicer than the pricey and awful Wall Drugstore in town.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the road...there is quite a bit of traffic so that could be noisy. We simply...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 636 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was our 2nd time to stay at Frontier Cabins. We love the whole place--the western decor, huge bed (King room), the cleanliness, and the continental breakfast. We would recommend this place. If you are a bedding nut like me you will be happy since the bedding and linens are very beautiful and still look new. Try it, we think you'll like it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUVTHEWEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent two nights at the Frontier Cabins Motel and loved it. The place was wonderful and unique (you stay in a log cabin). The cabin were VERY clean (although six years old, we thought it was brand new). The furniture, towels,everything in the cabin was beautiful. The amenities were also great. The Continental breakfast (more choices than a traditional Continental breakfast) was served in the motel's large store and it was so good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We absolutely recommend you stay at Frontier Cabins Motel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin42747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had booked these cabins online and were not disappointed at all. There isn't a huge range of accommodation in Wall, and these cabins were a very good choice. They are great cabins - well decorated (a bit quirky perhaps, but very cute) and they are very comfortable to stay in. It's lovely to be able to look out over green paddocks just outside your cabin. Or sit outside to have a coffee or an evening drink. The bed was great - huge and comfortable with lovely bedding, so we had a really good night's sleep. There is an outdoor cooking area with grills and outdoor tables, and a great playground area for the kids. Breakfast was available in the morning - and had plenty of variety. The shed that houses the front office and jewellery shop also sells fireworks, and they have a most impressive display of them. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all, an excellent place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband was skeptical about something as "rustic" as a log cabin. But with the limited lodging options in Wall, SD, I insisted we take a look. I'm so glad we did! These almost-new cabins were so much nicer than the hotel rooms we had been staying in, and the people working there couldn't have been friendlier. With no common walls, there was no noise from "the people next door." Each cabin had a pair of chairs out front, and I met several nice folks while taking an after-dinner stroll. There are grills and picnic tables for those who would like to cook a meal outdoors, and an outdoor hot tub and sauna which we didn't use due to the cool weather. Kids from other families were enjoying the outdoor playground equipment, something you won't find at a motel. A breakfast is available in the morning. All of this for a ridiculously low rate! I truly wish we could have stayed longer. It was so pleasant!

Room Tip: Cabins facing the empty field are quieter than the ones facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We found these looking for a place to stay near the badlands. Wall SD, is a tiny town and there aren't that many options. With a name like frontier cabins I wasn't expecting anything that fancy. The staff and facilities exceeded my expectation in every way. The decor is log cabin country, but everything was topnotch. Comfortable and cozy, the grounds were well kept the the view out of our cabin was nice. The staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome. The price was good and the breakfast was nice. It did feel a little odd though eating breakfast cooked in a gigantic fireworks warehouse store, (part of their front office). But I guess a little adventure thrown in for free. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msturgis524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We loved the cabins and the staff was just wonderful. Everyone was friendly and helpful, we couldn't have asked for more! Our only regret is that we could only stay one night. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank localtravlerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing