We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“what a great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

we recently stayed in the Frontier Cabins on our way to the Black Hills. I picked it because it was a change from the sterotype motel. We were very pleased with our stay, the cabin is exactly as it appears on the website and our room with 2 double beds was roomy enough for our 2 grandchildren and the 2 of us. The kids enjoyed the hot tub (it was chilly that evening) and terrific gift shop/fireworks store. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the meadow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    122
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
247
232
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wauseon,
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed three nights and loved the cabin. We had one queen bed, no kitchenette, but the refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker were great. Everything was extremely clean and the service was exceptional. The complimentary continental breakfast was more than adequate. Although we had to drive an hour to Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills, it was worth coming back to our own little cabin. It felt like our home away from home; and all that for no more than we would have paid for a hotel room. Siegrid from Ohio

Room Tip: Call ahead for options
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippiSKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
218 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed only one night but wished we could bring the cabin with us to Yellowstone National Park.
There is no doubt about that it, Frontier Cabins is the place to be if you are looking for lodging in this area.
The staff is very friendly and the complimentary breakfast is good en plentifull.
We would definately come back if in the area.
Thanks

Room Tip: Just give them a call
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Frontier Cabins staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and well appointed in a great location. Close to Wall Drug and a short drive to the Badlands, we had a wonderful time during our three day, two night stay. The kitchenette room we used for four adults and two small children was perfect and reasonably priced. Nice play structure for the kids along with a spa and sauna for the adults. Very nice and would stay again if we travel to this area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara_ErieCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We were very impressed by the clean, spacious cabins... the cental location...and the friendly professional staff. They went out of their way to meet our needs and made us feel very welcome. Rates were reasonable, service was excellent !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyLou_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Love the hot tub, our kids enjoyed the playground and we were able to relax right next to them! Great value and the continental breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hausejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We decided to try Frontier Cabins in Wall, S.D. as we drove back into Wall from the Badlands. What a fabulous place to stay! Cabins are homey and CLEAN, decorated very nicely and are very comfortable. We were able to sit on the porch and have some couples quiet time during our trip. The continental breakfast was tasty and the staff very friendly. We enjoyed the quiet of the individual cabins and not having the noise of people going up and down the stairs and in and out of adjoining rooms beside or above you. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfuchs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
46.5 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing