We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for families!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place for families!”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Love the hot tub, our kids enjoyed the playground and we were able to relax right next to them! Great value and the continental breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hausejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    126
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
252
235
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurens, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We decided to try Frontier Cabins in Wall, S.D. as we drove back into Wall from the Badlands. What a fabulous place to stay! Cabins are homey and CLEAN, decorated very nicely and are very comfortable. We were able to sit on the porch and have some couples quiet time during our trip. The continental breakfast was tasty and the staff very friendly. We enjoyed the quiet of the individual cabins and not having the noise of people going up and down the stairs and in and out of adjoining rooms beside or above you. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfuchs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge, la
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We were going to Badlands National Park, but I was rather turned off by lodging there and at Wall, South Dakota. I love the luxury of the large hotel chains but rarely find it outside of larger cities, until now. I found a small brochure for Frontier Cabins in Custer, SD on a rack and it looked brand new, was non smoking, pet free, free breakfast, frig, micro, pillow top mattresses, so told my husband I finally found a log cabin I would stay in. When we arrived at Wall, I was disappointed it was right off the interstate and said, "well this cannot be very cozy", but was I wrong. The checkin was wonderful and the log cabin was stunning. We had a cabin without a kitchen, which I was fine with, and I could not believe the luxury. The bedding was fantastic, clean, the furniture gorgeous and custom made in Colorado, the cabin was quiet with private parking right out the door, a grill if you need it, and so very clean.

I never give a bad review and only review places I stay that I can give a good review to, but if you want to see the Badlands and all its glory, in Wall, South Dakota, this is the only place to stay for all the comfort of home. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and enjoyed my "log cabin" stay as much as any grand hotel. Great playground for children too!

Oh, also try the Wall Drugstore for a fun afternoon and please eat at Cactus Cafe right across the street. The "prime rib" special is a must for beef lovers.

Room Tip: Call ahead and let the owner know you are coming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherrychipc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We spent two nights at Frontier Cabins and really enjoyed the experience. The new, modern cabins are beautifully furnished and equipped. No typical "motel white" towels and sheets. The cabins had flat screen TV, high speed wireless internet, and a great front porch for reading or relaxing. We could live in one of these cabins. The staff was extremely friendly and the price was very affordable. A senior discount made it even better.
If you're in Wall, don't even think about staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin that doesn't face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolette ND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I don't know what more you could ask for in a place to stay. The cabins are clean and offer a great rustic flavor. The people are friendly and do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. Here you get the best of both worlds, the fun and outdoors feel of camping with the comfort of a convenience of a top notch motel. We used the charcoal grill last night in back of the cabin and sat outside and enjoyed the view. There is also a common area with a hot tub, sauna, and state of the art outdoor cooking facility. I can't say enough good about this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We are on our fifth stay at Frontier cabins,last year we came for two nites,but had such a nice relaxing time we stayed for four nites.We were here during the grand opening in 2008 and are amazed how the cabins are still like new in 2011.They are spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated.We also find the continental breakfast very good.The rates are as good or better than any in South Dakota and there always seems to be a discount available.The gift shop and fireworks store has the best selection we have seen.The inventory is huge.I highly recommend staying here when vacationing in western South Dakota,It is a easy drive to any attraction in the Black Hills or the Badlands.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomandGlenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

my girlfriends & i took a cross-country roadtrip from la to nyc/catskills. we are a group of designers & photographers shooting an art book & film piece across northern america.
we bought so many incredible treasures at the store that we used as props & are decorating our homes with.... & giving as gifts to everyone we know. we adore sundie, the daughter of the family that owns it, who runs the place. the rooms were so quiet, cozy & comfy. we are some particular girls, & this was our best night on the road for 12 days. we are telling everyone about this store! we went crazy there!
they have an easy breakfast with all you need in the am too.
love love love.
5 star rustic!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
22.0 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Property: Frontier Cabins Motel
Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#2 Family Hotel in Wall
#3 Business Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing