We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kitschy good time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wall Drug

Wall Drug
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.00*
and up
Rapid City's Badlands and Wall Drug Limousine Tour
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Wall
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1931, this family business is known for its friendly service and for offering free drinking water to travelers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Northglenn, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kitschy good time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

What is there to say about Wall Drug? There is probably something for everyone who wanders through the doors. We spent the better part of an afternoon wandering in and around the store, it was one of the best days we spent in South Dakota.

On a side note, Wall Drug has managed to put tiny Wall, SD on the map. The amount of tourists that stop is incredible.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    818
    690
    227
    120
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The history is incredible and the place is just fun to wander around! There are shops for just about anything. I found a great book store and a shop with hot sauce! And the doughnuts! YUM!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatinColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Homemade doughnuts and free ice water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our first family vacation to the Black Hills of South Dakota was topped off with a scenic drive to Wall Drug. Little kids love the fountains that shoot out of the ground and the roaring dinosaur! Adults will enjoy the endless shopping, home style cooking, paintings and historic memorabilia. Its not Disney World but simple and nostalgic family fun! Thank you Mr. and Mrs. Hustead for not giving up on that little drugstore! Wall Drug is an American success story.

Helpful?
Thank frenchfurtrappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wall Drug”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were going to 1880's town and discovered that the costume section was closed for the season. We had driven quite a few miles to get there, we decided to go onto Wall Drug since I had heard so much about it. The first thing you see when you drive into Wall are the limestone formations that mark the badlands. We parked a way from the attraction and walked into the mall which is full of souvineer shops with unique items. Wall drug itself was like any other drug store except for the soda fountain,which we could not get anywhere near to since it was crowded. There are numerous restaurants there, and a plaza where western swing music was playing.Overall it was a pleasant place, full of stained glass (check out the traveler's church) and indoor mall that reminded me of a mall in Minneapolis I frequented many years ago. This is a good place to step back in time, view the limestone formations that are outside of Wall. The main street has unique shops with unique products.The way to Wall drug is well marked off I-90 and highway 14. if you love to browse unique shops and see the sights this is the place The photo ops are endless, they have old west characters sitting on benches in the mall and if you have a sense of humor you can get some hilarious shots. Try to get a shot of the limestone formations in the evening, when the sun is setting, unfortunately we were there at the height of the day when the light was too bright. It's a nice diversion from the every day grind.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sullybuttesjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Idaho
2 reviews
“neat little store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

There is alot of stuff in a old themed store. It was a lot of fun to go through and see. The kids liked the new back yard.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_D2497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wall Drug also viewed

Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to Wall Drug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing