We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”

Cactus Cafe & Lounge
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Wall
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Buffet
Description: We would like to announce that we are under new management for the 2014 season!!! The friendly folks at the Cactus Cafe are waiting to serve you Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our menus offer a large selection of meals: Steaks, Mexican, Italian, Seafood, Specialty Sandwiches and much, much more.We are one of Wall's finest family restaurants. Famous for homemade pancakes, lunch specials, salad bar, pies, broiled steaks (we age and cut all our meat using only USDA Certified Angus Beef), Mexican specialties, Homemade pizza. We feature a lunch and dinner buffet June through September that includes soup, fruit and salad bar with all you can eat homemade salads and soup. We also have a KId's menu. Kids dinners are served with small soft drink or milk. Parties and banquet facilities available.Enjoy a cocktail in our full service lounge. Try your luck on our Slot, Poker and Keno Video Lottery machines.Our service will be quick, courteous and always with a smile. Large groups always welcome.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It was okay”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

It seems that the restaurants in this area realize they have a monopoly and it shows. Food was okay, the salad bar was underwhelming, and the hot pizza buffet was adequate. The service was also adequate.
Try another place if you can, but who knows if it will be any better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JChtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    67
    115
    78
    149
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Run from this place”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Having stopped at many restaurants in the Black Hills during our 10 day trip we can without question state this was the worst restaurant we have visited there or anywhere in a long, long time. Horrible service (3/4 of the staff were russian students that couldn't comprehend/care), bad food (the buffet was understocked or overcooked) and disgusting environment (flies everywhere, tables not cleaned, etc.). Do not waste your time- move on.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank PackAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterport, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best coffee in western South Dakota”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were nothing but happy with the food, the service and most of all the coffee. Everywhere else we had stopped prior to Wall served weak, tasteless coffee (and I only went to those places that got good review on Tripadvisor). Thank you Cactus Cafe for brewing up some good coffee. Best part? They put a carafe on the table. No waiting for someone to come by to warm up your cup. Oh. And the pancakes were very good too. Ordered them twice. Being from the East Coast some of the dinner buffet items were never before seen and quite intriguing. And ended up being quite good. Now about that buffalo burger. Would recommend you make your own patties. A bit of a disappoint there. Never did get a good buffalo burger on this visit. Given that there are not many choices for dining in Wall we were quite happy overall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineMary369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK place”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had a decent meal, service was good, and the margaritas were cold! You can't expect too much when you're in Wall, SD.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MR0263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We arrived in Wall quite late in the evening and this place looked decent with a reasonable menu.
Turned out OK . Food came pretty fast for those who didn't take the buffet . service was prompt and helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lightfader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Cafe & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Cafe & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing