We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Bar”

Cactus Cafe & Lounge
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Wall
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We would like to announce that we are under new management for the 2014 season!!! The friendly folks at the Cactus Cafe are waiting to serve you Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our menus offer a large selection of meals: Steaks, Mexican, Italian, Seafood, Specialty Sandwiches and much, much more.We are one of Wall's finest family restaurants. Famous for homemade pancakes, lunch specials, salad bar, pies, broiled steaks (we age and cut all our meat using only USDA Certified Angus Beef), Mexican specialties, Homemade pizza. We feature a lunch and dinner buffet June through September that includes soup, fruit and salad bar with all you can eat homemade salads and soup. We also have a KId's menu. Kids dinners are served with small soft drink or milk. Parties and banquet facilities available.Enjoy a cocktail in our full service lounge. Try your luck on our Slot, Poker and Keno Video Lottery machines.Our service will be quick, courteous and always with a smile. Large groups always welcome.
Holmesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Good Bar”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate is the Bar section , seemed a little freindier , food was good waitress was excellent , seemed like a local crowd , was kind of loud & a lot going on , TV , pool table & Slots

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadows1, Owner at Cactus Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate your response and thank you for giving us appreciation. Since we are so grateful for your review we will give you a free beer if you print this review out and bring it in.



Sincerely Jim Coats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    64
    109
    72
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We liked the food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had an enjoyable meal here, the sandwiches were very good. My country fried steak hit the mark and our server was just great. The place itself is an average, nice café with reasonable prices. No complaints. I'd recommend coming here for lunch, and doing something more upscale for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iinadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadows1, Owner at Cactus Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate your response, we are grateful that you have shown us some appreciation because we work hard to bring our customers satisfaction. We hope to see you again at the Cactus Cafe in Wall, SD.




Sincerely Jim Coats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Burger -- It's Wall, SD!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Ate lunch here after. I airing Wall Drug. Service was pleasant, burger good. What's I would expect from a cafe inca wall, SD. As good an option as most there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadows1, Owner at Cactus Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate your response in reviews of the Cactus Cafe and we hope to see you again in wall SD.





Sincerely Jim Coats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
342 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“In and Out”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Terrible service and a disgusting salad bar. My advice just keep driving or eat at the Wall Drug cafe. We waited about ten minutes for service while the waitress poked around the salad bar. The salad bar and soup area had dozens of flies buzzing around. Enough to make anyone lose there appetite.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadows1, Owner at Cactus Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience. The salads are homemade and we usually don't have any complaints. We try very hard to control the fly season and we pay Eco Lab to control the insect problems. We have found a waitress drinking on the job so we replaced her.


Sincerely, Jim Coats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Experience the 1930's”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

You need to be really hungry before stopping here- menu has many choices, and there is a salad bar with 2 types of soup. Unfortunately, the salad bar is very limited, and "tired". We needed to pick thru the offerings to find the fresh items. The soups looked older than me, and I get the senior discount. Of course Wall, SD is famous for "free ice water"; too bad we had warm water with no ice!
The meals were apparently cooked by trainees on their first day; a "medium rare" steak was burned to a crisp, and the "chopped buffalo steak with onions" must have been a buffalo shot by General Custer; dry, charred, and they forgot the onions. We would have much preferred to eat at Dairy Queen, 2 blocks south.
If you are walking by, keep on walking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lantirn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadows1, Owner at Cactus Cafe & Lounge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience. At the Cactus Cafe we would like to give our tired customers a "homey" feel when they come to eat, the soups and salads are homemade from scratch. The meal must have been slightly overcooked because we serve thousands upon thousands of customers a day that have absolutely no complaints with our delicious food. We appreciate you removing your response.



Sincerely Jim Coats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Cafe & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Cafe & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing