We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived Too Late For A Great Experience”

Red Rock Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Wall
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dunkirk, New York
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Arrived Too Late For A Great Experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Red Rock was recommended by our hotel clerk when I asked where the locals ate on a Sunday evening. As it turned out, we were seated within about 40 minutes of closing time after an 11 hour driving day. Two of our group opted for the buffet and at this time of evening, it had been severely picked over and we were told it would not be restocked. You could tell that both the kitchen staff and front of house folk just really wanted to get the night finished. Pretty disappointed in truth. This might be worth another try at a better time of day, but it will be a while before we pass through again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WesternNYTravelFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    193
    149
    59
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OK, but expected better”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Based on the reviews from trip advisor, I decided to eat dinner here instead of Wall Drug. It was OK, but nothing great. The salad bar was very, very basic....the food was alright, but nothing great. The chicken sandwich I ordered was a grilled chicken breast on a bun with a leaf of lettuce and a slice of tomato. I had to ask for mayonnaise. My son had the buffalo burger and said it was very good.

This restaurant does not have much seating....so get here early!

We stayed in Wall for 2 days and did not eat here again. We ate our next dinner at Wall Drug, the food was better than the Red Rock....but much more costly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Between the four of us, two of us had decent entrees. The broasted chicken looked good, and my husband liked his patty melt. We also ordered the tacos and the "crispy" chicken sandwich, which was downright awful. Think like a kid's chicken tender plank on a bun. The burritos being served at the other table looked good however!

They do include the salad bar with their dinner entrees, but none of us ordered one of those because the jump in price didn't seem worth it.

Honestly I'd rather have tried one of the restaurants on Main Street...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank odiedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Not extraordinary, but not bad either.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was better than expected. The salad bar was plain with nothing out of the ordinary but the soup that night was very good. The service was ok. The food was as expected, good but not great. For a tourist town this place was better than most.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leon67203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Very Forgettable Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is rated #2 as of now on this site for the Wall area. I flat out refused to eat at Wall Drug, so this place was the natural choice. Getting here, I was already disappointed in the fact that no booths are available at this restaurant. All they have for seating are rocky tables. We were seated right next to the buffet, so I could have a good view of the disgusting ensemble they put out. It looked and smelled off. Now, to the actual meal.

Appetizer - garlic cheesy sticks. These were surprisingly good, although $4 for 2 sticks is a little exorbitant. The marinara sauce provided was likely frozen, but was still decent tasting.

Meals - Chicken Fingers and Chicken Fried Steak. The chicken fingers were NOT like most chicken fingers my girlfriend has had, nor myself. Rather than having a light breading, these strips were ENTOMBED in an overdone breading. There was about a half inch of free space between the chicken and the breading. The waffle fries that came with the strips were pretty good, however, good seasoning and crispy. The chicken fried steak was not very good. Tough, flavorless cube steak with again an overcooked breading. The cream gravy was very basic. Peppery, but with a good consistency and taste. The mashed potatoes came with the same cream gravy, which wasn't what I was expecting, but tasted fine.

No dessert, as we were both ready to leave by the time our meals arrived. Service was pretty fast, but the food took awhile. I wasn't left waiting for a drink refill, which for me is one of the most important things, so that was a plus.

Overall, this is likely the best place to eat in Wall, given what places look like on a drive-by as well as other user ratings. If I was in Wall again, and didn't want to go to Rapid City for better dining, I would probably eat here again, if only to try one of their more expensive steaks. But if I'm going to do that, why not just go to Rapid City? Stop in Wall for Wall Drug, lodge there if that's your thing, then go on your way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rock Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing