We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing redeeming about this place”
Review of Econo Lodge Wall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Wall
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Rochester, MN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing redeeming about this place”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

It probably starts with the fact that it is impossible to open a window in your room! And then compounded by the fact that by the time you prop your door open to try to air out the musty smell and stuffiness all the weird flies and bugs of South Dakota have flown in to join you for the night. This motel is super dated and not overly clean (found someone else's hair on the sheets...blech!) and it was a miracle I didn't come down with a huge allergy attack after sleeping in such stifling conditions. Thankfully the AC did work and by morning it was comfortable in the room...
The breakfast is pretty standard but you better get there early or else stale donuts will be your only choice! My uncle went back to get some instant oatmeal only to find they were all out and wouldn't put any more out that day ("We only put so many out each day..."). Too bad for those who came even later.
The water was undrinkable as it never got cool enough and tasted strongly of chorine--thankfully there was a fridge so I could fill up some glasses and put them in overnight to chill to drink the next day. The icecubes were equaly as gross tasting. Good luck to you if you risk to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allimaass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funecono, Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for responding to Trip Advisor concerning my hotel in Wall, SD. We try our best to please 100% of our guests. I'm sorry for your apparent discomfort, but I would like to mention that the Wall EconoLodge has been a multi-award winning Choice Hotel property of the past few years. We try our best to have a variety of breakfast items for the free continental breakfast each morning. Customer satisfaction and cleanliness are what we strive for at the Wall EconoLodge Once again, thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    59
    23
    8
See reviews for
83
62
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

When we arrived at the Econo Lodge, there was no one at the desk- or anywhere. The phone was ringing, and ringing, and ringing. There was a wallet laying out, and obviously someone should be there. There was no bell to ring or way to get a hold of anyone. At first I just kind of stood there...and stood there. I stood for about 15 minutes and then tried to CALL the front desk while I was standing at it. Sure enough it rang to where I was standing. My husband finally walked around the motel grounds and tracked down a maid who tracked down the front desk person who checked us in (25 minutes). Not a great way to start...
The non-smoking room had probably been a smoking room in the past or else it was just old and musty. It had that sort of smell to it. It was clean though and it was cheap so it served its purpose just fine. The bedding was clean, there was no dust, and the bathroom was large.
There was a fridge and microwave (both nice and clean and in working order) so that was nice.
Breakfast was substandard in comparison to other places we've been- just donut holes, toast, english muffin (jelly , honey and butter for toppings), and oatmeal. for drinks- there was coffee (decent coffee), juice (Apple), and water. It was by the pool in a little house looking thing cute- with nice seating open 7am -9am. bad selection so we didn't eat bkfst there like we normally do at a hotel/motel.

For the price, I guess staying here was worth it- though I won't be back again and wouldn't recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNHighlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funecono, Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for your response. I would like to apologize for your wait at the front desk prior to checking in to the Wall EconoLodge. Due to the hard work of my staff, at times the front desk clerk is assisting with cleaning rooms and/or outside assisting with maintenance or other hotel jobs. Thanks for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Wall Econo Lodge this week with our two young-adult sons.

We were disappointed with this motel in many ways. We had three rooms all of which were musty and quite dated. They were in poor repair. I walked around in socks, because the carpet was so dirty. I woke up with a sore throat from the experience. Our sons were placed in the basement rooms, mentioned by others here. These rooms must not meet code. Each had a small, high basement window which the motel had blocked with wire mesh - no option for escape from a fire, at all. The motel does not have sprinklers.

The front office staff seemed okay. The outdoor swimming pool looked fine, but is close to the street. The breakfast was minimal - we skipped it.

The Best Western across the street looks like a much better bet, if you must stay in Wall. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4MidwestFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funecono, Manager at Econo Lodge Wall, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for responding to the Wall EconoLodge. Although you may not have been satisfied with your rooms, they are all inspected daily along with meeting the codes via the state and health inspectors. Many of the rooms you've spoken about are actually requested by customers too. Since Choice Hotels International has classified the Wall EconoLodge as a multi-award winning hotel, I believe we're trying and working our hardest to please our guests. Thank you again for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wall hotels

Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

This hotel was nice enough for the area, I didn't see any significantly better options. The rooms were clean and comfortable - just in need of an updating. The breakfast was nice and served by the pool - the area with the food was a little too small for people to move around, but everyone was friendly enough and worked it out. A little expensive for an older place, but not too bad. Good location - close to the Badlands and easy drive to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007MBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Booked our room through Choice central reservation on the phone while on the road. The rate was good for a queen room with frig, micro and coffee maker. When we checked in we were directed to the very end of the building (older two story with outside entrances) to a door with 4 room numbers on it. Opening that door with our key card revealed a stairway leading down. Room was small with one small window high in the wall because we were in the basement. No other rooms were available unless we were willing to pay for a suite or take a smoking room, which we were not. Room smelled of deodorizer but did seem clean. There must be better choices in town. Not a bad place necessarily, but make sure you aren't in the basement.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfMercator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Very nice room. Free Internet. Roomy. A few blocks away from Wall Drug. TV is small, but has plenty of channels. Two queen beds at a cheap price. Room includes mini-fridge and microwave. Free coffee with coffee pot. Air unit in room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colemanjbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Excellent location, great customer service and very clean hotel. Located within about an hour of the Black Hills. Very reasonable rates for tourist area.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullings09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
132 reviews
22.2 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Wall

Property: Econo Lodge Wall
Address: 804 Glenn St, Wall, SD 57790-2025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Wall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wall Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing