We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip the Econo Lodge- Skip Wall, SD all together!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Wall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Econo Lodge Wall
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Barcelona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Skip the Econo Lodge- Skip Wall, SD all together!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Skip the Econo Lodge and try one of the other motels in Wall. On second thought, skip Wall, South Dakota all together!

The Econo Lodge was by far the worst place we stayed on our whole road trip. The first room we were assigned to had very obviously been smoked in- it smelled terrible. When I told the clerk that we had asked for a non-smoking room she did have us try another room and then switched us but didn't seem that concerned about the fact that people had been smoking in the non-smoking rooms. She said there was nothing she could do about it.

The second room smelled better but was still sub-standard even for a cheaper motel. There were flies every where in the room, the toilet didn't flush properly and it was just generally run down.

They advertise "breakfast included" but by the time we got there all that was left were some donuts. For those of us whon don't eat donuts for breakfast, this supposed perk wasn't.

Overall our entire experience in Wall was awful. There are no decent restaurants (they are overpriced and provide lousy service) and the "world famous" Wall Drug is nothing but a bunch of tourist trap type stores, selling junky stuff connected by hall ways. A big disappointment.

We suggest you skip Wall, South Dakota all together and go to another one of the charming small towns we found along the way i South Dakota!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — See my review- it was all bad!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TunaJunkieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    49
    53
    22
    7
See reviews for
78
52
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

We rolled into Wall on a recent road trip with nowhere to stay, and the Econolodge had a decent price with fairly clean accommodations. It's exactly what you expect from the Econolodge, which is to say, not great, but the outdoor pool was nice and the price was right.

  • Liked — Price, convenient to Wall Drug
  • Disliked — A bit run down
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CdnGrl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

For a reasonably priced motel, this is more than acceptable. Housekeeping is a bit lax -- little things, like the coffee pot was rinsed but not dried and there was a thick layer of dust on the clock radio. The carpet and bedspreads could have been more pristine (but that's pretty standard with motels in this price range), but the bathroom and linens were immaculate, and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast had little selection, though there were fresh doughnuts and the applesauce made a nice change. All in all, a fair deal for the price.

  • Liked — Handy location
  • Disliked — Could be a little cleaner
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

It was a busy night when we checked in and did not have much of a choice when it came to room availability. We had a two queen room. When we first walked in the room it was smelly! Not sure what it was, it was a non-smoking room so it wasn't stale smoke, we're thinking it was just old. My Husband sprayed his body spray all over to mask the smell. It helped a little but not much, we ended up getting used to it. The room was dated looking but seemed to be clean. We did use the outdoor pool before it was closed for the evening and it was decent, and even though the night was very cool, the water was nice and warm. It was a one night stay, on our way home from vacation so it was fine for what it was, but I would not have stayed there longer term.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
244 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2005

On past trips we have stayed inside the Badlands but decided to stay somewhere with a pool this trip since we were traveling with kids. I picked the Econolodge based on price and because it looked decent online but I have been burned by internet photos before. In any case, I was not expecting much and was basically just hoping it wasn't a roach motel. The exterior is fresh looking and the rooms were a decent size and very clean. The pool was heated, clean and there was plenty of seating and they even had pool toys and towels. Breakfast is served in the pool house which is snug but on a nice day you can sit out by the pool or you can always take it back to your room. No great breakfast but coffee, juice, cereal, doughnuts, hard boiled eggs-at least something to start your day off which was nice because dining choices in that town are extremely limited. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank librarychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#16 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Wall
Motel 6 Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Wall

Property: Econo Lodge Wall
Address: 804 Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Wall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wall Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing