We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cyclades Hotel

Cyclades Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cyclades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Finikas
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Clean but very basic hotel. No view, no character. The owners are polite but the all place doesn't have "personality". I am wondering why reviewers are so excited about this place.
It is just an accommodation to sleep but not to spend time in or enjoy yourself.
My rate is a little low but I think that "excellent" is not fair at all for this hotel.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Nice quiet and relaxed family business appartments, 1 minute from the beach. Very polite and helpful staff, catering for all our needs! recommended.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

This hotel has been our annual vacation destination for the last ten years. The rooms are perfect with everything you need. The service is impeccable. But the best part is that it is family run... you feel very welcome!! I am already looking forward to this coming summer (and many more)!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyannop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beccawyer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

Amazing service, fantastic breakfast, clean rooms, great value for money in a charming location. It felt like we were in the real Greece!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of September and it was fabulous. The place is exceptionally clean and very well located. Almost on the beach, short walk to local shops and restaurants. The staff is super friendly and uber helpful- anything we asked for was provided in no time. It is also an excellent value for money which I think it is important. The hotel serves an yummy breakfast which is simple and fresh. Rooms are decent size with patio/ balcony. Each room has its own little fridge and TV. Overall we had very pleasant, relaxing time and I would recommend it to anyone who is heading to this part of the island.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwona1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We arrived late in the yacht harbour and wanted to leave the sailing boat after a nine-hour-day in Beaufort 9-10. All we wanted was a bed that would not be swinging in the waves!
We found this little beautiful place a little off the main road and were surprised by the good value for money ratio. 35 Euros for a single room. Good, it was already off-season. But for us it was home for the next three nights.
All clean, big rooms, with AC and TV.
The landlord assisted in finding us some good scooters to explore the island.
small beach is right in front of the hotel. However I recommend to go up to the Beach Club, which has a nicer Beach and also has sunshades and sunbeds to let.

Finikias has some nice restaurants and you can find good food every night and also for lunch.

However, the village is rather quiet, so you need transportation to get to other beaches and/or cities.

WIFI is for free in the lobby area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mucben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

I don't normally rave about hotels that I pick for their location. When I booked this room, it was simply because of the hotel's proximity to the Port of Finikas where we were picking up a yacht charter this week, what we got was much, much better than I could have hoped for.

We booked the rooms via e-mail with the owner, and received a prompt reply and subsequent confirmation. Very professional and courteous - something that if you've traveled much in Greece you will definitely appreciate.

Arrival was a bit rough as our airline had misplaced our luggage and AT&T didn't turn on the international calling feature on my phone as requested. The owner was very helpful in coordinating messages with the airlines and our travel insurance company to get the luggage in our hands two days later. I don't know what we would have done without his help!

The room was very clean and good sized, cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels. Even though the room was booked because we could walk to the port, when I opened the windows and found a beach front and harbor view from the room for no extra charge, I was in heaven. Cocktails on the lanai helped take the edge off after the long trip.

The continental breakfast - oh my goodness. In most cases, I would not use the two words in the same sentence. Here, the breakfast is included in your room charge and is not to be missed. It's served on the rooftop deck with views of the harbor, beach and surrounding hill sides. WHAT they serve is remarkable. There is a wonderful little Greek bakery around the corner they walk to purchase the pastries and bread from each morning. Don't miss out on the traditional Greek Sesame bread with butter and the local organic unfiltered honey, or the yummy pound cake. Simply heaven. Eggs, meats and cheese upon request as well, fine Greek coffee or American coffee or tea, fresh Greek yogurt and fresh squeezed local orange juice. You won't find better on the island and I've had much worse at four and five star hotels in the US.

Simply put - this place rocks.

I would advise anyone seeking a Greek vacation to book this hotel. The island of Syros is a little known gem, and the Cyclades Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finikas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ethrion
Hotel Ethrion
#2 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alkyon Siros
Hotel Alkyon Siros
#1 of 1 in Megas Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hermoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brazzera
Hotel Brazzera
#1 of 4 in Finikas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Benois
Hotel Benois
#1 of 3 in Galissas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyclades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclades Hotel

Property: Cyclades Hotel
Address: 389 Amphitheas Str, Finikas 841 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Finikas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Finikas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cyclades Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cyclades hotel is a "2-star" hotel situated in the centre of the beautiful Finikas village, 30 metres from the sea, built in accordance with the traditional Cycladic architecture. The hotel has 32 spacious well-appointed rooms, well equipped with the comforts of modern establishment, in order to provide private facilities to our guests. This family-managed hotel offers you friendly service, which will make your stay more pleasant. The peaceful location of the hotel, for restful and relaxing moments, the friendly staff service, ensuring an unforgettable holiday in a welcoming atmosphere, on the island of Syros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Cyclades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing