We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$297
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$269
$260
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$211
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
428
77
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
77
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsborrowdale gateslake districtdining roomhigh standardfirst classexcellent foodlovely hotelevening mealmany yearsnothing is too much troublered squirrelsstunning viewsbird feedersattention to detailsuperior roomreturn visitnew owners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 521 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Some friends and I stopped here before ascending Castle Crag in August this year. We were naughtily going to just use their carpark but ended up going in as some in our party had to return to our accommodation in Keswick because of a shoe problem(!). We, all 8 of us, in raincoats, boots and with rucksacks were welcomed in with a very warm smile from the receptionist. We were lead through to a sitting area and ordered teas and coffees. (the breakfast smelt sooo good though)
The view from the sitting room was beautiful, the decor in the hotel adds to the experience and the staff were fantastic considering we looked like something the cat dragged in.
Coffees and teas came with delicious biscuits and the children with us were provided with water (which is what they had asked for).
Maybe on the expensive side (£20 for 1 pop of tea and 3 coffee pots) but this isnt a cut price hotel so as soon as we walked in we knew it wouldnt be cheap! I had tea which was lovely and i was informed that the coffee was amazing, so actually considering the standard maybe it wasnt unreasonably priced.
The staff though were just fantastic and really made us feel welcome.

If i could stand the 6 hour drive up there for a long weekend i would absolutely be booking up!

Room Tip: Have a good sit down in the sitting area, very relaxing and i think they provide board games too :)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imabadpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stopped at this hotel while passing through the area, and the manager kindly gave us a brief tour of the property. We were very impressed with the high standard of the place, and soon afterwards we returned to stay for one night. We were not disappointed. The accommodation was very comfortable, the food was also exceptionally good, and the service of a very high standard. This hotel provides a certain section of the market with exactly what is demanded --- a restful environment and quality hospitality, as well as an excellent base from which to explore the beautiful surroundings. Clearly a lot of money and thought has gone into making this hotel what it is today --- and the owners, management and staff must be congratulated on the result.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RIchardBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This isn't the first visit but it's definiately the best. The hotel has had a complete refurbishment. My husband has quite a few food intolerances and the staff couldn't do enough to accommodate this. From the fabulous welcome at reception to the divine meal, The beautiful room and the breath taking views. All perfect. Staff work as a team and nothing is too much trouble. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartonlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We first went to the Borrowdale Gates Hotel for my 50th birthday and loved it that much that we have been going back ever since over the years and certainly seen some changes. Now 10 years on, we decided to book 4 nights over my 60th birthday in July and had a wonderful time. We booked the Wainwright Room with a stunning double aspect view and balcony which was lovely and had a warm welcome on arrival with complimentary tea or coffee in the lounge. The staff are superb, so helpful and friendly and the food is as good as ever. We did a couple of good walks and it is a pleasure to go back there to relax with a drink and take in the peace and quiet and fantastic views. We will keep going back and look forward to the next time.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies facing up the Borrowdale Valley have stunning views but the prices are quite high. Any room will have wonderful views but we were celebrating a special birthday so we treated ourselves to one with double aspect.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandDChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

First went to BGH about 28 years ago. Back then it was a typical walking lodge, a bit foisty, but that was kind of the charm. Went there recently and it was extremely well renovated. Beds really comfortable, quiet to the point of needing to test ones ears were still working. Fabulous. The staff were awesome. Cumberland Breakfast will build you up for a whole week of walking. So glad I went back after all those years. Well done BGH...

Room Tip: The main body of the hotel was certainly great, not sure about the rest. But I noticed they had special rooms that open directly on to the garden for dog lovers.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tall_Uncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews