We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. Lovely setting in Borrowdale valley, with lovely views accross valley.( difficult to find without Sat Nav) Very relaxing setting and hotel is well laid out with lots of collections of soft furnishings and sofas set around a choice of 2 real fires. Very cosy, sitting in front of log buner, looking out into garden watching red squirrels play outside.
Food is superbe - cannot be faulted- Pork just melted in my mouth. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Main clients are hill walkers, but ok for those of us less active, just looking to relax!
Was annoyed at people who came in just for afternoon tea or drinks, as they kept on their walking boots - all over lounge! Thought walkers had better manners!
Only fault is with beds- recently refurbished but with double beds- would have prefered a king size for comfort.
Cant wait to go back for another relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gozo877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 510 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

Agree with JohnF62's comments with a few exceptions. We booked three single rooms (through lastminute.com) at £70 per night b&b which represented very good value for money. There are lots of small touches here that would be easy to axe in this harsh economic climate - generously filled and varied bird feeders, small bowls of sweets dotted about; nice to see and they add to the overall lovely feel of the place. We only had one dinner there and were disappointed as it was not particularly good but the excellent staff made allowances for it on the bill. All of the staff were very good, especially Sue the Manager. The setting is beautiful and the red squirrels and birds put on quite the show. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is definitely a place to splurge out on, and will probably only suit a particular type of guest.

The hotel setting is superb. Fantastic views and lovely grounds. The hotel itself is in the midst of ongoing renovations and improvements, but they did not intrude on our enjoyment.

By and large this hotel will appeal to those looking for a sedate and elegant experience, where everything is rather genteel. Don't expect a lively bar or late evenings. However, if you enjoy something a bit more formal than most, and don't mid paying for the privilege then this hotel is likely to appeal.

We stayed in a deluxe room at an eye watering price on £115 per person for dinner bed and breakfast. Actually this was a discount on rack rate which was £125 per person. Anyway, the room was very pleasant and probably worthy of its deluxe tag - but only just.

Dinner was however excellent. I enjoyed every mouthful of my three courses and despite my expectations, the price of the wine was almost reasonable. We retired to bed at about 10pm and the bar was almost empty so I guess no late night drinking was going to happen.

After a very comfortable nights sleep we enjoyed a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice.

Overall it is more pricey than I would normally consider, but it was an enjoyable stay and the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We were given a weekend away as a present by my partner's family for his "special birthday"! This was perfect in every way the room was luxurious, warm, with no detail overlooked. The views were fantastic, red squirrels played in the garden!
The staff were attentive without being intrusive.
The food!!!!!!! Quite simply sensational.
Perfect location in the heart of the Lakes!
We are already planning our next stay.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms in the summer, top floor in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahflattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

In February this year my wife had her birthday, very special one and with help of Sue on reception who could not have done more than she did, we had a super time.
This was a surprise birthday dinner for 12 people, overnight stay and from the previous August everybody including those at the hotel kept is quiet and at 7-00pm on the Saturday evening when everybody appeared, the look on my wife's face was 'priceless'.
This past weekend we took 2 other friends with us who could not come in February and as they said, we can image how it was on that special night - priceless.

To Colin, Joy, Sue and all the staff once again you have excelled yourselves, please don't change anything, you have got it 'spot-on' and YES we will be back at some point in the Spring of 2012.

Thank you to everybody including the all the staff, yet another super and memorable weekend at the Borrowdale.

John & Sue Tate Ashton-on-Mersey Cheshire.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TatieSale_CheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the Borrowdale Gates on the recommendations of family, who had been there before the new owners took over.

The hotel was very nice, we particularly enjoyed the open fire, board games and the great views from the dining room and lounge. Our room was comfortable, again with a lovely view. Complementary afternoon tea on arrival was much appreciated after the drive!

The food was on a whole other level to the rest of the hotel: it was out of this world. Absolutely amazing. The menu was brilliant, it was hard to choose what to have! Of the three courses we each had over three nights we LOVED everything.

The staff were very polite and helpful.

We would love to come back in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor with balconies and views up the valley are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is a copy of my "thank you" e-mail to the hotel :

Sue - just to say you were right – we were not disappointed one little bit! Everything from start to finish was just perfect. The staff were professional in every way and so welcoming – the hotel an absolute “jem” in a fantastic setting – and “Fairy Glen” (our room) lived up to your description! Thank you all so much for looking after us so well and for an added bonus - arranging a spectacular spell of weather! The two 65 year old honeymooners enjoyed themselves very much and have wonderful memories and a vast number of pictures to remind them of you all up there in that fabulous Borrowdale Valley.

Room Tip: Worth ensuring it is one that has been upgraded - Fairy Glen was ranked as superior, I just wonder w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-in-Borrowdale
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,216 reviews
10.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
578 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Gates Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Address: Grange-In-Borrowdale | Keswick, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range: $193 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Gates Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel is set amidst the breathtaking scenery of the Borrowdale Valley, the "loveliest square mile in Lakeland", according to Alfred Wainwright (MBE). Close to the shores of Derwent Water in two acres of woodland in Grange near Keswick, this is an ideal situation for walking, climbing, and touring the Lake District direct from the doorstep. There are many places of literary and historical interest within the local area. This beautiful family owned and run hotel has undergone a real transformation since 2008 with a full refurbishment completed in September 2012 to earn its current four star AA rating. With elegant contemporary rooms, a rosette award winning dining room, cosy bar and lounge, guests are assured of a warm welcome to enjoy stunning panoramic views during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Gates Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing