We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a small town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hotel is right on campus at University of South Dakota...next to the Dakota Dome.

Staff is helpful and room was very clean.

Hot breakfast consists of a pancake machine (fun to watch), biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs and fresh made rolls.

Cold breakfast includes a variety of cold cereal, yogurt and bagels.

Room Tip: hotel has an elevator, so even if you are on the top floor (3rd floor) you can take the elevator up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKSMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 79 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here on business during the Vermillion Farm Show. The room showed a little wear and tear, but seemed clean. The first day we had problems in the bathroom as the drain was very slow, water would not completely shut off, and the toilet seat was very loose. One note was all it took and it was fixed when we came back later in the day. The beds were not as comfortable as the ones in the newer HIX hotels, but not completely horrible either. Breakfast was okay, but attendants didn't replenish as often as some HIX's we've stayed at. Also, they did not have enough seating, so we and others had to take their food to their rooms. It has a small swimming pool, hot tub and business area. This is probably the best hotel in town however, and we will probably stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmomma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

A nice little hotel serving Vermillion, South Dakota that offers nothing exceptional in value or service and a bit far off the Interstate highway to be useful to travellers not heading this way.

The high point was the morning desk person who was also in charge of preparing the morning breakfast layout. Nice gentleman who was very committed to his tasks and also covering the front desk for all inquiries. Full points for his efforts as the only shining point of this location.

Room Tip: There didn't seem to be much difference in room locations as the scenery looks the same from eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueFromWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a great HI Express. Staff is great and very helpful. Right across the street from the Football Dome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhuskers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed during Dakota Days 2011. Everyone was friendly. The hotel was not loud, they went out of their way to bring a refrigerator/microwave up to our room. The beds in our 2 queen room were small and softer than we would have liked. Great location to the Dakota Dome. They enforced parking with a hangy-thing in your rear view mirror. No one was in the very nice pool this weekend. The breakfast was tasty, plentiful and clean. This is the best you're gonna get in Vermillion. I would definitely stay here again, even during DDays.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank GeocachingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

This hotel does not measure up for Holiday Inn Express. But perhaps that is why it is a Cat 2 vs Cat 3. No upgrade for platinum elite (perhaps because the one upgrade room was not available). The bed was low (old style without thick mattresses), but the room was fine. The breakfast was bad. The wonderful cinnimon buns (available at most Holiday Inn Expresses) were hard and had been under the warmer too long. I took the last few pieces of bacon (which were hard and had obviously been there awhile), and an omlette which was hard and had been under the warmer even longer that the bacon. It took 10 minutes to get the next pan of bacon, and 20 minutes for new omlettes (which I did not have time for then).

Room Tip: no idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrRuhnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I'm here for a university event and this hotel is adjacent to the dome, so I'm nearly on campus. This is a pretty new, 3-story hotel. There is plenty of parking, and reception and check in are no problem. I was even able to change room types at the last minute, and extend my stay at the last minute - all with no problem. The room is nicely decorated and nicely equipped. Internet is free and wireless. Large desk/table to spread out and work. I'd just add an outlet hub on top of the desk to avoid bending under to hook up. There's a fold-up luggage stand in the closet cubby alongside the ironing board and iron. The amenities in the bathroom are adequate - hair drier, soaps, shampoo/conditioner, and my favorite - the makeup remover towelettes! There's a coffee/tea basket and one of those Mr. Coffee-type machines. I'm fussy about my coffee so it wasn't to my liking. If you like this type of coffee, you'll be fine. The heat/air conditioner is at the window and it works very well. At -23F, I was not cold! Their pool and hot tub area are wonderful. Very comfortable, temperature-wise, and nice surroundings. I enjoyed the hot tub all to myself both evenings I was here. Breakfast buffet is included and was nice. They have pre-fabbed cheese omelettes and bacon, biscuites, bagels, cereal, yogurt, toast, juice, coffee and condiments. I'm not a fan of disposable "china" and "silver" but it is convenient and well-maintained. Free newspapers in the reception area. Overall I was quite satisfied at this hotel. Thanks for a nice stay! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermillion
0.7 mi away
Best Western Vermillion Inn
0.3 mi away
Prairie Inn
Prairie Inn
#4 of 4 in Vermillion
109 reviews
24.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Yankton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
#2 of 4 in Vermillion
35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion

Address: 1200 N Dakota St, Vermillion, SD 57069-1240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Vermillion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Price Range: $130 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express hotel is ideally located directly across the street from the University of South Dakota's, Dakota Dome, Sanford Coyote Sports Center, and three blocks from the main campus. This Vermillion hotel is minutes from the scenic Oyate Trail, the National Music Museum, the W.H. Over Museum, the Missouri River and Spirit Mound Historic Prairie. The University of South Dakota is home to many museums and sporting venues. Vermillion is home to a special blend of agriculture, higher education, retail business and light industry. Several shopping opportunities are minutes from the hotel. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Vermillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Vermillion
Holiday Inn Vermillion
Vermillion Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing