We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and Quaint”
Review of Prairie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prairie Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Vermillion, South Dakota
1 review
“Serene and Quaint”
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My stay at the Prairie Inn was great. It provided the ideal setting for the alone time I needed. This is a comfortable hotel with professional and friendly service. The room(s) and kitchen (breakfast room ) are tastefully done. On site bowling faclity, and bar and grill are a plus. Guests can also take advantage of the numerous cultural and sporting events at the University of South Dakota. A Swimming pool would be nice

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paluwa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    34
    12
    13
    7
See reviews for
42
22
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shafer, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

thank you to the staff and manager of the praire Inn you were all very generous with all of us and made us all feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tklein72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Nice clean rooms and a nice location for the town.The staff was outstanding and very helpfull.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigrig21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Was nice when it first opened. Now about the only plus for this motel is its location. Very little money has been put into this place since it was first built. There are better options in Vermillion.

Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YoteAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyhuber, owner at Prairie Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
We are the new owners of this property. Since taking over we have replaced all beds, tv's and most furniture and carpet. New drapries and bedspreads were recently purchased. We have remodeled the lobby and have created a new breakfast room modeled after a 1930's farm kitchen. Also all bathrooms were completely remodeled with new ceramic floors and granite countertops. All rooms now have microwaves and fridges. Please don't judge us by old reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermillion
0.6 mi away
Best Western Vermillion Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion
22.9 mi away
Best Western Kelly Inn
Best Western Kelly Inn
#1 of 7 in Yankton
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Hartington
25.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Yankton
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
#1 of 4 in Vermillion
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Inn

Property: Prairie Inn
Address: 916 N Dakota St, Vermillion, SD 57069-1201
Location: United States > South Dakota > Vermillion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Prairie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service hotel in Vermillion. The Prairie Inn is attached to Howlers a restaurant and lounge, there is also a bowling alley in our complex. The Prairie Inn was recently remodeled inside and out.We feature all flat screen TVs, new beds,and refrigerators/microwaves.We are most proud of is our real dakota hospitality! We are located across from the Dakota Dome and adjcent to the University of South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Prairie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prairie Hotel Vermillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing