We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls”
Review of Prairie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prairie Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were visiting family in the area and stayed here one (Friday) night. The sound coming through the wall of the room was unbelievable -- we could hear every word, and the occupants were not yelling. Would NOT stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank bookerRochesterMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 109 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here with friends recently on a busy weekend in town (home football game for the local college, and South Dakota's high school football championships, all of which took place across the street. So, needless to say, a busy weekend. We were greeted by no one in the front desk area, and no one answered the ringer. About six minutes later, the clerk walked up pushing a load of laundry. She hurried to the front and checked us in. She was nice enough, but she let us know that she was the front desk clerk, doing the laundry, and also thawing out a frozen ice maker. They only had this person working on this busy night. Fail one.

Once we got to our rooms, they were fairly clean, but not the best. The lights were not bright at all. They only had one light in the bedroom, and it wasn't bright at all. The table had something spilled on it, and wasn't cleaned up. Fail two.

We also noticed that the rooms weren't very soundproof. We could hear people all night in the hotel going back and forth, as well as a bunch of emergency vehicles go by the next morning. Fail three.

Lastly, we got down to breakfast at 9:30 (ended at 10), and everything was gone except the milk and two crappy rolls. Fail four.

Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallguy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice hotel for a small town. Manager, Della, is great! Night staff is awesome as well and has good recommendations on places to eat etc. The attached bar is of great convenience for good food and a quick drink after a days work!

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Every time I go to Vermillion for my schooling (USD) I stay at the Prairie Inn. I've been going there for 3 years now each and every summer. I like the fact the room is reasonable and the continental breakfast includes biscuits/gravy and make-you-own waffles. I get a hot breakfast and a hot shower in the mornings and my day is started off right.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thrillaback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in. The manager even broke into our room and went through our suitcases. They seem nice when you arrive but after they have your money you are of no importance. Don't use your credit card there because she also attempted to place false charges against our credit cards after we had left due to her being a psychopath. Try the comfort Inn they are very pleasant and the rooms are beautiful. I have never had a problem there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1badanounymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Prairie Inn is an older hotel which has been very nicely renovated. The king room was up-to-date and very comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good. This is a great place to stay for the price, especially when compared to other hotels in town. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvinLife1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I found ourselves visiting Vermillion unexpectedly Labor Day weekend, and found the Prairie Inn near campus. The rates were almost half the cost of the other hotels in town. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. We had a microwave and a small refrigerator in our room which was a nice plus. The biggest surprise was the free continental breakfast which included a set up to make your own waffles, in addition to biscuits and gravy, breads, and pastries. I even found the other guests to be pleasant. I will definitely stay here again next visit. Staff was friendly, and left us alone- no unwelcome knocks on the door!

Room Tip: Go for a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aruna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermillion
0.6 mi away
Best Western Vermillion Inn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion
21 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Hartington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
Red Roof Inn Vermillion
#2 of 4 in Vermillion
35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Inn

Address: 916 N Dakota St, Vermillion, SD 57069-1201
Location: United States > South Dakota > Vermillion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Vermillion
Price Range: $73 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prairie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service hotel in Vermillion. The Prairie Inn is attached to Howlers a restaurant and lounge, there is also a bowling alley in our complex. The Prairie Inn was recently remodeled inside and out.We feature all flat screen TVs, new beds,and refrigerators/microwaves.We are most proud of is our real dakota hospitality! We are located across from the Dakota Dome and adjcent to the University of South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Prairie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prairie Hotel Vermillion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing