We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooooh that smell - Can't you smell that smell?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Chip Campground
Grand Rapids
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ooooh that smell - Can't you smell that smell?”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The answer is YES! It was emanating from the restrooms. Those facilities at the Buffalo Chip may have been the worst I have ever been too. There was toilet paper and liquid feces covering the entire place. Everyone going in and out of there would either cover their mouths or try to hold their breath. Even if you didnt hold your breath the stench coming from this filthy place would take it away. It was the single thing about the Buffalo Chip that ruined the trip for me. The rest of the time was amazing. I got hammered almost every evening and the parties would last till the early morning. I'm not sure if they dont have employees to clean the bathroom, or if the employees were drunk and didnt care, either way somethings needs to change.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RawIsC0zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SturgisBuffaloChip, Director of bar operations and showcase entertainment at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Well, we're glad that "the rest of your time" was, as you said, "amazing", but we regret and apologize that you had a bad bathroom experience. We do hope that we can do better for you in the future. Please contact us directly so that we can find out specifically what outhouse you felt was neglected and approximately when you were there so that we can be sure to address the issue better for 2013.

Just to clarify, we do indeed have a full time staff of about 75 people that is dedicated solely to cleaning the toilets and showers day and night. As you can imagine, it's an utterly thankless job that very few take the time to actually appreciate, but the crew is proud of the constant efforts they make and will strive to do better. Please let us know so that we can continue to improve and serve you better.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    24
    13
    27
See reviews for
6
32
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Chip a few times and love it. We missed a couple years because my husband had a heart attack but have returned. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. My husband is a disabled vet and has always been treated with the utmost respect. He very much appreciates the tributes to the troops. The flag raising is awesome. We aren't big party people but always have a good time. There is always something to do there. My son( who is twelve) cant wait til hes old enough to go to the Chip. Thanks Woody

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remese12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SturgisBuffaloChip, Director of bar operations and showcase entertainment at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We're happy to hear you have such a wonderful time and that you appreciate the military tributes. They are dear to our hearts. Thank you so much for your kind words and support and we thank your husband for the service he has given us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

"I have just read many of the comments about the Buffalo Chip, and frankly I am wondering what those with negative comments were expecting.
I have stayed at the Chip for the past three years and hope to return for many more. It has to be one of the best organized parties in the world. There is so much to see and do that I never left the site during my first year. When one can get entertainment by bands such as Toby Keith, Kid Rock, Motley Crue, CCR, and ZZ Top, to name a few, plus a week's camping for the price of one or two nights in a hotel, I can think of no better deal. If a little dust and/or rain bothers you, you should stay in a hotel far from Sturgis or stay home.
My only suggestion for the Chip is some gravel on the dirt roads would be helpful. Pavement would be even better but don't do this and raise your prices to cover the cost.
As a retired veteran, I think that the Chip's support for the military is outstanding. I will be back in 2013!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveStevenson416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SturgisBuffaloChip, Director of bar operations and showcase entertainment at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Awesome. Glad you like the military tributes. Glad you like the concerts. Glad you took the time for a suggestion. We're working on it. Really. Every year we aim for better. Keep on coming back and bring the smiles with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springhill, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I traveled solo to the rally for the Legends Ride and the Biker Belles Ride. Had a blast on both. Was treated so well. I so enjoyed my day trips out to the Chip I will be staying there in 2013 and repeating the same. Loved the cross roads. There are always a few negatives with a large event and camping and should be expected. I have stayed in 5 Starr hotels I will not return to. It is the adventure and the people the make up the whole experience after all!! Gotta love it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SturgisBuffaloChip, Director of Bar operations at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Wow. That's the second best review ever. Thanks so much and we'll see you on the Legends Ride and at the Biker Belles celebration next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Then reserve your tickets now, cause this is the place to be if you go to Sturgis Black Hills Bike Rally!
2012 was amazing, and yes, a bit dusty, however. The campground did go around with water trucks every day. With the amount of people in this camp, I was impressed with the restrooms. In the ladies restroom/shower (which were FREE & HOT) they even had a selection of lotion, sprays, shampoo, etc.
There is always an event going on, so you're sure to find something that interests you (aside from riding the beautiful Black Hills:). Everything you need is right there in the campground, as well as a pond for swimming! The acknowledgement that this campground shows for many charities, lady riders, and our Military (among others) is priceless, and very respected.
The headline concerts are out of this world, and the price is right. There is always live entertainment or an event going on somewhere in camp, every night!
The new bar/concert stage at the Chip is the CrossRoads, and it is FREE to ALL!
The memories you make in Sturgis are forever yours, enjoy them at the 'best party anywhere'!
Have fun and Ride Free Everyone!

Room Tip: They also offer cabins and campers if you don't like to tent camp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IronCowgirlMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SturgisBuffaloChip, Director of Bar Operations and Showcase Entertainment at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Well that was pretty much the best review ever. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Even though it was very dry and it was overly dusty during our stay, I had a great time. The price you pay for a concert ticket includes lodging for the night. We were staying in a friends camper, but I must say half the time the water wasn't working and we blew electricity many times. The mid-morning trek into the city was a long process...with bikes all over and everyone trying to make their way to the same place....be ready to wait. Overall, fun experience...everyone was there for the same reason and met some interesting people from all over the world. Always felt comfortable and the vendors were all very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTravelerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SturgisBuffaloChip, Director of Bars and Showcase Entertainment at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Glad you had a “great time” and thanks for taking the time to comment. You can read about all of “the good and the not so good” of the 2012 Rally from the owners perspective at BuffaloChip.Com >Home>Woody’s Message>2012.

It’s a fascinating read, but the gist is 2012 was one of the biggest and best years ever. And with the huge crowds came a few complications, such as the Electrical company losing and having to replace transformers mid rally due to the large regional loads from air conditioner units in RV’s etc. They did work through the nights to get them fixed when it happened though so Amen and thanks to that.

All in all, it was a phenomenal year. Thank you very much for making it happen. Feel free to contact the Chip directly if there is anything you need and we hope to see you again next August for more Music, Rides and Memories…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

the price you pay for the concerts is well worth going in. but the showers/toilets are very lacking at best. the pit toilets do not get cleaned at all though the week and cant be used after the third day. also the roads are none existent. i know we don't want super speedways as everyone will drive to fast but they need to be something. the so called paved roads haven't been paved in what looks like 20 years. then in the tenting area there is nothing and people drive everywhere, even right next to everyone tent/camper. then there are people with RV's in the tenting area that run generators all day and night. there needs to be a rule that they cant be running from midnight to 8:00AM.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank frankenstein71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SturgisBuffaloChip, Daymon Woodruff - Director of Bar Operations at Buffalo Chip Campground, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for the review. What you commented on above will be discussed. Please feel free to contact us directly. Restrooms are always the hardest job, but every year the crew improves, the toilets improve, the hand wash stations improve. The Chip is hardly perfect, however one thing is for sure, every one of the crew and family dedicates to, commits to and strives to improve your experience every year with the intent that you will be one of the Tens of thousands of people that come, have the time of their lives and leave with smiles and great memories. It’s much more than just a party.

The magnitude of taking on such a task as orchestrating an incredible one-of-a-kind experience with quality entertainment and great value for tens of thousands of people seems beyond comprehension, yet this is something the Chip crew strives for not only for a 10 day period… but throughout the year, tirelessly and relentlessly, and through all the freshly grown grey hairs, despite all of the unexpected Challenges that arise. Everyone is proud to pull it off to the level of success that it is and will continue to strive to do it perfectly. Hope you are there for that when it happens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
4.9 mi away
Best Western Sturgis Inn
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
15.9 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
15.1 mi away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#19 of 24 in Deadwood
277 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days End Campground
Days End Campground
#3 of 13 in Sturgis
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Chip Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Chip Campground

Property: Buffalo Chip Campground
Address: 20622 131st Ave, Sturgis, SD 57785-6628
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sturgis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Sturgis
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sturgis Buffalo Chip®, known as the Largest Festival in Motorcycling™ and the Best Party Anywhere™, is a nine day concert venue and campground located on 560 acres 3 miles East of Sturgis, SD. It's concert series dates coincide with the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally in August. The Sturgis Buffalo Chip's campground concert series hosts the the biggest names in music as well as tons of other activities such as Bikini Contests, fire dancers, zip lines, motorcycle jumpers, mud bog racers, motorcycle and guitar sweepstakes, Live DJ Dance club and go go dancers, midget bowling, karaoke. It's a must see, once in a lifetime, will never forget experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffalo Chip Campground Hotel Sturgis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing