We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturgis
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great stay, again”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at the holiday inn at Sturgis several times now. Every time has been great. The breakfast bar was exceptional this time. everything was good from the people at the front desk to the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindarob213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    52
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
67
55
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you want to partake of the Sturgis Bike Rally, and still get a good night's rest, this is the perfect place. Located on the west side of the freeway, it is close but not too close. Staff is excellent, and food options exist nearby, along with gas stations, convenience stores, and freeway access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawatha, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked 3 rooms for the group of 6 that went to Sturgis for prebike week. We booked this hotel for location and the shuttle service. We booked 2 suites and 1 King room and where very happy with the rooms. We did arrive prior to check in time and the front desk was more than accomadating she offered to let us all check in immediatley but they would be on different floors or ask if we would like the 1 room to put our things in and then she would get us all on the same floor next to each other, we chose this option. I can not say enough about Max the shuttle driver, very friendly and so much fun, he went out of his way to make sure that we had fun and took us to whatever location we wanted to go, also very quick arriving to bring us back to the hotel. He gave recommenations and they where spot on. He even took us to our destinations one evening in the limo, the crowd at Full Throttle was a bit disappointed when 6 of us got out and it wasn't Toby Keith just a group from Kansas having fun. We will definalty return to this hotel when in the area (for the 75th anniversary) Rooms clean, spacious, queit and well equipped. They also allowed bikes to park in non parking spaces, which was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night post Deadwood/Mt Rushmore. Staff on duty were friendly & helpful even upgrading us to a suite being a Gold Member which was a nice Suprise! Room was huge with a coach area and two beds! Standard HI Express breakfast and free wifi were good. They offer a shuttle to Deadwood & Sturgis.
Would recommend to anyone who needs a hotel close to Deadwood but doesn't want to pay Deadwood prices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gman1868
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in Jun 2013 for business. The hotel was full with people visiting the multitude of local attractions. The rooms are spacious, modern, and clean. The service is outstanding, from the front desk to the Housekeeping staff they do an excellent job while catering to families, tourists, or folks there on business. They gave me a room further away from the railroad tracks as requested (never heard one) and next time I will ask for a room on the north side of the hallway on the back side of the building since I did notice a few Harleys firing up at 7am for a morning run the Black Hills.

Saying it's "near" may be speaking relatively since The Badlands National Park and Black Hills National Forest are 30 minutes or so away. However, you will have a difficult time finding better accommodations in western South Dakota. I know I will be staying there whether it's for fun or for work.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side facing the rear of the building are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gman1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We requested a quiet room as we NEEDED a good night's sleep. They gave us 401 (top floor and farthest from the elevator). HOWEVER - the walls are paper thin. I could hear entire conversations of my neighbors well into the late evening and again very early in the morning. They weren't overly loud - it's just that there is very poor sound insulation between rooms. Result = Very Bad Night's Sleep. The AC unit doesn't have a 'vent' option either, so you can't just run the fan for background noise.

I booked this room based on high user ratings, but didn't feel it lived up to the expectation. Like another user stated, it was "Typical & Average"

The pool is very small, the slide is for 6 yrs old and below and supports show signs of corrosion.

The morning desk guy was not overly hospitable.

The rooms are spacious, but ours didn't have a fridge (like someone else mentioned theirs had)

Will will probably not return to this property, especially for what we were charged!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room as we needed a good night's sleep. The walls are paper thin. I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WI87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear WI87,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is pretty much just like all the others. Nothing spectacular but not too much to complain about. The room was a 2 queen room that was fairly large and included a sofa bed. Microwave & refrigerator included. Plenty of towels and pillows. The beds were quite comfortable and we both slept well. Regarding the "average" part - the construction is all wood framing which has zero sound deadening capability. Unless you are on the top floor, there is somebody above walking around at all hours of the night. A little more spent on construction would certainly enhance the Holiday Inn experience.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to ensure a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prototypecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear prototypecycle,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am very pleased to know that you have slept well during your stay. However, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
2.1 mi away
Best Western Sturgis Inn
9.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
8.9 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
9.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 2721 Lazelle St, Sturgis, SD 57785-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sturgis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota. Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial & the South Dakota Air and Space Museum. Your family can also enjoy exploring the many natural caverns that dot the terrain, including Wonderland Cave Natural Park, the Black Hills Caverns and Crystal Cave Park, each within 25 miles of our hotel. A stay at our choice hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota gives you quick access to area businesses including Jameson International, EKConnection and the Coke Bottling Center, along with access to the brand new Convention Center and its premiere meeting facilities. Also, take advantage of our convenient, free shuttle into downtown Sturgis, Deadwood or to the Rapid City Regional Airport. During your stay at our hotel, enjoy all the amazing amenities we have to offer, including a game room, fitness center & heated, indoor pool with a Jacuzzi and water slide. Also, enjoy the free hot breakfast in the morning, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Sturgis hotel room deals to start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Sturgis
Sturgis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sturgis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing