We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice, but need improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturgis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed 4 nights this time, but didn't enjoy as much as previous stays. Nice grounds and public areas, friendly front desk staff, but housekeeping woke us up every morning before 10 (room had no "do not disturb" sign available). Stayed in 2 queen room - no micro fridge or microwave, and desk chair was too large for the space, so had to sit sideways. AC never really got room cool enough, and each lamp had 1 of 2 bulbs burned out (took those to front desk for replacements). Also, noticed that one of the maids was listening to her iPod while working, which should not be allowed in any business with direct customer contact. Will probably stay here again, but not during cool weather as we were told that the a/c doesn't run if outside temp is below 65. Do they not realize that the rooms can be too warm even if outside temps are cool? Leaving window open while sleeping is not an option as their location is between railroad tracks and a highway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. Nice hotel outside of main street of Sturgis, but within a strip mall with food options -- Subway, Dairy Queen + 2 other choices. The hotel is N/S and offers plenty of free parking, small pool with a slide good for kids, small arcade room, small fitness room, free hot breakfast, free shuttles to Deadwood in the evening. We stayed in a 2 Q room with a coffee maker but NO fridge or microwave. The front desk check-in woman was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrugalMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Water slide is like McDonald's playground but kids slide right into the pool.Follow directions tho about sitting & not on stomach or kids get bruised. A/c wasn't working right & was fixed within the hour. A cheaper alternative to rapid city & great home base for day trips into the Black Hills: deadwood, mt Rushmore, crazy horse...can walk to dairy queen or pizza ranch (will deliver to room too)--even has movies to check out with a DVD player

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BABetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here twice, once on business for a couple of days and once for a week with my spouse. Wouldn't have stayed the second.time, but it was the nicest facility available for our needs at the time.

Facilities are splendid and the service staff (specifically, the housekeeping and breakfast staff) were excellent, both courteous and quick to.respond to requests. The front desk staff on the other hand were generally blase and struck me as indifferent. I got the general feeling as if they didn't care about my experience one way or another.

Room Tip: Watch out for where the outside flood lights are located, on both my stays they shined into my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collinsml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear collinsml,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am delighted you were happy about our facilities as well as the housekeeping services and your experience at the breakfast area. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with our front desk staff. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for the night on our way to Sioux Falls. Very easy to get to, easy check-in, very friendly staff and nice rooms. The pool is great especially for families. They have guest laundry and a great complimentary breakfast! Everything I expected from a Holiday Inn. Another plus is they offer shuttles to downtown Sturgis and downtown Deadwood if you want to have a night on the twin!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had several friends and family book rooms here for our daughter's wedding. The rooms were very nice and we heard from everyone in our group about the good service. One of our friends even made a special request at breakfast one morning and that request was honored for him the next day. He was really impressed. We had all sorts of crazy requests as we got things ready for the wedding reception in the adjacent convention center and every request was readily granted with a smile by the HIE staff. We had left a few items as we cleaned up and the staff went looking, found them and gave us a call letting us know. We have used this hotel several times for out of town family and friends and will definitely do so again and again. Thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Have stayed at numerous Holliday Inns across the country and as a member of their rewards program have come to expect better than average accommodations. There were no microwaves or refrigerators in the standard rooms, have to have a king suite to get those and they appear to be very limited. Pool area was small and noisy. Breakfast was the basic fare, nothing special. On the plus side they have a good laundry facility and good beverage selection available in the lobby. Will stay in Deadwood next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Juull,

Thank you for staying with us and for being one of our Priority Club members. We are pleased that our laundry facility and beverage selection at the lobby met your needs. However, we regret you were no satisfied with the pool area and room accommodations. I understand the inconvenience this caused you. I would like to thank you for citing specific concerns that will help us improve on overall guest satisfaction.

We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
2.1 mi away
Best Western Sturgis Inn
10 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
9.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
9.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
8.9 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#2 of 25 in Deadwood
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 2721 Lazelle St, Sturgis, SD 57785-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sturgis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturgis
Price Range: $100 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota. Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial & the South Dakota Air and Space Museum. Your family can also enjoy exploring the many natural caverns that dot the terrain, including Wonderland Cave Natural Park, the Black Hills Caverns and Crystal Cave Park, each within 25 miles of our hotel. A stay at our choice hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota gives you quick access to area businesses including Jameson International, EKConnection and the Coke Bottling Center, along with access to the brand new Convention Center and its premiere meeting facilities. Also, take advantage of our convenient, free shuttle into downtown Sturgis, Deadwood or to the Rapid City Regional Airport. During your stay at our hotel, enjoy all the amazing amenities we have to offer, including a game room, fitness center & heated, indoor pool with a Jacuzzi and water slide. Also, enjoy the free hot breakfast in the morning, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Sturgis hotel room deals to start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Sturgis
Sturgis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sturgis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing