We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturgis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Sturgis may not have a lot going on for much of the year, but this hotel was a gem! We stayed here for two nights while visiting Deadwood, and it was wonderful. It seems brand new, it's so well kept. It was clean, well-lit and pleasant. The staff readily accommodated our request for two rooms together--thanks, Stacey! The pool area was small but clean, and the slide was a huge hit with our four kids. The first night, we had it to ourselves! The patio area is large and well-maintained. There is a Subway and Dairy Queen within walking distance, and the breakfast area is large and clean and a great place to eat. The morning staff kept the breakfast food well stocked and tables cleaned. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area, and would absolutely not hesitate to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 178 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is the all-around nicest hotel from this brand that I have ever stayed in. Also, it is very convenient to the freeway. The breakfast was the usual affair for the brand. But the room was immaculate and you can tell that they care---they make an effort to make you feel welcome. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavvyTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is one of the better places in town. The staff is very helpful and the place is very accommodating. It has a gym, an indoor pool and its famous breakfast. The rooms can be a little dark in the winter due to lack of sun but on the whole it is great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed in Sturgis on the way back to Wisconsin from the Yellowstone area. We had been in Cody Wyoming and stayed in a so-called “luxury” hotel (with a luxury price) and our room in this HIE was much better! We stayed in a two-queen room and it was huge. The room, the halls, the pool and breakfast areas were all very clean. The pool is not huge but big enough to swim some laps. There is a small water-slide at the pool. The breakfast area was good-sized and the food selection was very good. The hotel is right off the interstate and easy to find. We only have one complaint about our stay in Sturgis. The dining choices for families are very limited. There is a Pizza Ranch right next to the HIE but it didn’t look too good to us. The other choices were either Mexican restaurants or bars. We ended up at the Pizza Hut as that was really the only other place to eat. It was an easy drive to the downtown area from this hotel and we enjoyed seeing all the activity as the city was getting ready for the motorcycle rally. If we are in the Sturgis area again we will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Madison_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have been going to Sturgis for the MUSTANG rally they hold over the labor day weekend and had been staying at the Days Inn across the street until last year when the service there was not the greatest. This year we opted to spend the extra money and it was worth every penny. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and well maintained and the breakfast was delicious and continually refreshed.

The hotel provided a hose outside for patrons to wash their cars along with hotel towels to get ready for the show and shine something the hotel across the street wouldn't do.

The laundry room is available 24/7 making it nice to be able to wash your clothes on your own timeline. A wash is $1.00 (they have one frontloader and one toploader) and then the two dryers are a quarter for every 15 minutes but they only take 30 minutes to dry jeans.

There is a nice area in the lobby to visit with friends or they will turn the lights on for you to use the breakfast room along with turning on the microwave for you to pop up some popcorn. We had a group of 13 in the breakfast room one night playing dominoes and the staff was very helpful in making sure we had everything we needed plus gave us a bowl of candy.

Ice machine and soda machines on each floor next to the elevator.

The beds in the king room were comfy and you had your choice of two firm and two soft pillows. The towels were plentiful and the maids leave you little candies. The channel line up seemed great, I only look for one station and that is the food network and they had it. The tv was pretty fancy and it took me a night and a half to figure out how to get it to do what I wanted to it to do on the first try. One phone on the desk and one next to the bed. We had a handicap room so not sure what the normal bathroom would be like but ours was big enough to hold a party but there was no counter space.

They have a business center with two computers though I had been warned by another guest that you need to be quick before it kicks you off. That seemed to get locked up around 11pm.They do have free wireless but some had issues getting it to work.

There is a nice size pool with a slide that does not have a weight limit but does have a height requirement. There is a jacuzzi tucked behind the slide. And again they provide towels.

They have a small exercise room, that looked to have about four different type machines in it and a very small arcade to keep some kids occupied.

They also have a gift shop that sells everything from lip balm to wine, postcards to t-shirts. Not sure if that ever closes.

It is convienent to two gas stations and a couple of restaurants (Pizza Ranch, a korean restaurant and a chat and chew that is inside one of the gas stations) plus fast food (DQ, Burger King and Subway).

The only complaint we had all weekend was when we had left a backpack in the lobby and when we realized it, the backpack was still there but the wallet was not. The clerk was more interested in showing us a video of her dog than answering if there was video cameras, etc. to help us maybe find the person who took it (guess we thought we were amatuer detectives). Please note we are not complaining the wallet got stolen, that was our own stupidity but would have appreciated a little more help in the matter. On a side note the wallet beat us home as someone did find it and mailed it with the only thing missing was the cash.

The breakfast room is huge with lots of selections. Pancakes made by a machine, eggs, biscuits and gravy one morning and ham another. Muffins and a toast bar. Fruit, cereal, coffee, milk, yogart, four types of juice and cinnamon rolls. Everything was always well stocked and the staff was friendly and happy to help with any request.

Room Tip: Suites seemed to be on the fourth floor. Even numbered rooms face North. Avoid a handicap room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Renea06GTYUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We just happened to be at this hotel during the Sturgis motorcycle rally 2011, there were a lot of morotcyclist there at the same time. I was very impressed with the way the hotel handles the amount of vehicle traffic. I had reserved online, which put me through to the express check it. Was very quick after a long drive. Room was clean and staff was very friendly. I recoment this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mlotway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Room was clean. Very nice hotel with a great breakfast...the first Holiday Inn Express I've encountered with pancakes and the first pancake machine I have ever seen! I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seashells988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
2.1 mi away
Best Western Sturgis Inn
8.9 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
576 reviews
9.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
10.0 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 2721 Lazelle St, Sturgis, SD 57785-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sturgis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturgis
Price Range: $120 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota. Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial & the South Dakota Air and Space Museum. Your family can also enjoy exploring the many natural caverns that dot the terrain, including Wonderland Cave Natural Park, the Black Hills Caverns and Crystal Cave Park, each within 25 miles of our hotel. A stay at our choice hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota gives you quick access to area businesses including Jameson International, EKConnection and the Coke Bottling Center, along with access to the brand new Convention Center and its premiere meeting facilities. Also, take advantage of our convenient, free shuttle into downtown Sturgis, Deadwood or to the Rapid City Regional Airport. During your stay at our hotel, enjoy all the amazing amenities we have to offer, including a game room, fitness center & heated, indoor pool with a Jacuzzi and water slide. Also, enjoy the free hot breakfast in the morning, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Sturgis hotel room deals to start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Sturgis
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Sturgis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sturgis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing