We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprise”
Review of Super 8 Sturgis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Sturgis
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturgis
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle, australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“surprise”
Reviewed November 4, 2009

stayed 1 night, very happy with this motel...our 14th day of travelling through the u.s & rated so far the best...friendly staff, although we stayed at cheaper super 8's this one was clean, comfortable & breakfast best so far...only complaint is the town...everything seems to close down when no events in town, unless you like pizza, macca's not much to choose from...also this motel is other side of highway, so is quite a walk from the main street

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    47
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
35
68
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
beaumont tx
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2008

The normal price of these rooms is roughly $76, during the week of the Sturgis bike rally, the price jumped a moutain and went to ... get ready ,$235 per night, we had reserved a queen room, and recieved a double bed instead, talk about a rip off, and some of the staff was extermely rude to us.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cajungrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

I'm a somewhat eccentric radio producer, who can be perceived from time to time as a bit 'out-there'. Most creative people are... Nonetheless, I'm quiet, polite, friendly and non-obtrusive...

The Manager, after staying here 5 nights decided to call the cops and have my room raided by many police officers. The excuse they gave me for the raid was that she spotted me with aerosol can.

After a 20 minute shake-down, broadcasting my name all over a town where I'm trying to do business, the officers excused themselves and apologized for the inconvenience. The cops were very professional, for which I'm thankful.

Perplexed by the whole aerosol can thing I asked an officer, "What's up with the aerosol can thing?" (which was actually a can of Monster Energy Drink). The officer replied, "People huff that". I said, "Oh, ok".

To make a long story short, if your packin' energy drinks or hairspray, Sturgis' Super8 manager is likely to have cops, including a K-9 unit, beating down your door, while falsely humiliating you in front of many.

I'm still in shock, and will never forget the grief she caused. My advice, drink soda-pop in your car, or steer clear of Super8 until she is long gone.

Besides the She-Devil Super8 manager who MUST be fired for this egregious action, the staff is friendly and the rooms are great !!!

I called and emailed Super 8 corporate. I'll post their response and action taken later... You'll soon know how much Super 8 cares about it's guests, and if she's still there to ruin your trip to beautiful Sturgis, SD.

Stay tuned.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank gcharlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Super 8 was typical. Noise was minimal in the rooms and the air worked good. Wireless did not work anywhere in the hotel, not even in their lobby. The front desk was not helpful at all, only told me that the "computer guy" had just come and checked everything. Front desk staff was a little rude, but not too terrible. I would not recommend the breakfast. The fruit was the only thing that was good.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JessNJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2006

The room was clean and the jacuzzi worked well. I would like to see the Super 8 Motels include coffee pots or some sort of amenities with thier rooms. We didn't deal with the staff after check-in so unsure of how anyone outside of the front desk clerk was. We would probably stay at this motel again.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2005

Nice place just off I-90. Nothing spectacular about this place but the staff was very helpfull and friendly. Rooms were clean. We had a room with a sliding glass door as a wall. They must have had a pool at one time and decided to build a second building with rooms instead of keeping the pool, but they didn't replace the doors with walls, so we got to look at the door of the room across from us as our view. I would recommend this hotel for travelers.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DawnW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
2.0 mi away
Best Western Sturgis Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
9.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
14.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sturgis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sturgis

Property: Super 8 Sturgis
Address: 2600 Whitewood Service Rd, I-90 Exit 30, Sturgis, SD 57785-2975
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sturgis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sturgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sturgis 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This motel has a business center, guest laundry and exercise room. Each room has a refrigerator, hair dryer, iron, ironing board and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Sturgis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Sturgis Hotel Sturgis
Sturgis Super Eight
Super Eight Sturgis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing