We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Super 8 Spearfish
Nearby Hotels
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Spearfish(Spearfish)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Spearfish)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Black Hills Lodge(Spearfish)(Great Value!)
$107
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel(Spearfish)(Great Value!)
$64
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
186
140
73
34
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
140
73
34
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubwafflesindoor poolroom was cleanpool sidedeep endwould stay againbudget hotelhard boiled eggsgreat poolgreat place to stayfront desk staffstaff was very friendly and helpfulblack hillsrefrigerator and microwavesouth dakotaroad trip
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 462 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Towels were FILTHY and had dirt, hair, and stains on them. Pool had so much algae and slime on the bottom that there was a visible layer of slime on the pool bottom. Hotel has 3 floors but NO ELEVATOR. Hotel manager was rude, arrogant, and unfriendly, and made it clear that it was "take it or leave it." Made no effort to apologize for the conditions at this hotel. Location is far from Mt Rushmore and area attractions (30 minute drive) and is out in the middle of no-where. Rooms are also very old, noisy, and run down. This is a tourist trap hotel that probably makes most of its money during the summer, when they know there is a high demand for rooms and will never see the same guests twice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wps40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

A terrific little surprise. The pool and hot tub were super clean and family friendly. Best front desk personnel and hotel staff...friendly and helpful. Got one of the ground level smokers' room (am a non-smoker) but it didn't really smell. They really made the effort to not make it smell like an old ashtray. Good size room, clean & comfortable. Continental breakfast (coffee, juice, cold cereal, waffle, toast) and dining area was also very clean. Excellent location near interstate, WalMart (across the interstare), stores/services/food, and downtown. Good value.
Highly recommend and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SizL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I wouldn't recommend this motel. The rooms were clean but noisey. The back doors to the rear entrance didn't have any LOCKS!!! The pool did not open on time, even with kids waiting to swim!!! They closed the hot tub. Showers ran out of hot water. Very disappointed....= (

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horseplayer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2010

We are sorry that your experience at the Super 8 did not meet your expectations. We make it a practice to share all our guest's comments with our staff and management team. It is through comments such as yours that we work to hlep improve guests experiences.
We thank you for your opinions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Super 8. Our room was clean and the staff was friendly and professional. This hotel has a nice indoor swimming pool/hot tub and also provided a continental breakfast that was better than most hotels. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jh200465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel was a great find for us. Clean, spacious room, carpet and bedspreads nearly new, nice bathroom. It was not a luxury hotel, but was a good deal at a price below the competition. The location was convenient to the interstate (positive), but kind of in an odd block of business buildings (not scenic, negative?), which did not detract from our stay at all. There is no restaurant right next door, but plenty in the area. The central core of the building was the indoor pool, which might be a negative if there were loud kids out there, but that was not a problem and quiet hours are enforced. The breakfast was good, including hot fresh waffles and hard boiled eggs. I would not have been surprised to have to pay about 50% more for the quality of this place. My husband usually cringes when i book hotels at this price, but HE told me to be sure to write up a review when we got home about how good it was. That says it all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looniest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews