We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overwhelmingly average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Spearfish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Spearfish
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overwhelmingly average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

Newer-appearing property in a relatively safe but visually unappealing neighborhood. The check-in clerk was aloof and indifferent. We had a lot of luggage, and were dismayed to discover that this relatively new property had no elevator. The front entrance doors were narrow, heavy, and positioned so that it was difficult to open a door whilst carrying a piece of luggage, then immediately open the second door into the lobby. For them money, I'd stay someplace else on my next visit through that area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalebRochling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    114
    62
    27
    19
See reviews for
151
115
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

You get what you pay for. A $70 - $80 does not get you the Ritz. But this motel was clean and comfortable. The staff were nice. Hey, it's Spearfish, South Dakota. Be ready for some exercise running up and down the stairs for ice,etc., if you have a room on the second or third floor. BUT, you will be just down the street from a large, excellent two-story museum containing early settler, Native American, and cowboy artifacts.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

My wife and I come to Spearfish, where we have family. We generally enjoy staying at Super 8 and other similar properties, and this one is above average compared with others.

The location of the rooms around the pool is good for people with kids and those who don't mind the noise that does come in the rooms. We prefer quiet.

Parking at this property is difficult for late arrivals, especially for those who are towing a trailer. I agree with other reviewers that the property does involve climbing steps, so those who may have difficulty should ask to see a room first.

The staff here are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is your standard continental breakfast,. There is a Meixcan restaurant nearby, but the hotel setting seems more like an industrial park than a place to expect a hotel. The Heritage Museum is just up the street.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, room cleanliness
  • Disliked — Hotel location, parking, noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sbknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanwilliam, Manitoba
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

We arrived a bit early on a Friday and were promptly checked in for 2 nights. Our room was on the second floor opposite the office and facing the pool as all of the rooms do at this particular hotel. Our main reason for staying at this property was the fact that we were traveling with our small dog and the Super 8 in Spearfish is pet friendly. My wife is quite picky about hotel rooms and registered no complaints so I guess that acts as a testimonial to the facilities. We didn't eat at the hotel since we are late risers and prefer the more solid fare at Perkins. The hotel is in a rapidly developing area and there was a bit of road construction making access to the parking lot a bit awkward. That aside the hotel is handy to gas, C-store, Kmart, Walmart, etc.

  • Liked — pet friendly, price
  • Disliked — pool was chilly
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BHP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
203 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

Great pool! Although, I can see where it might be annoying to people who don't like pools/kids/noise. All of the rooms face the pool. Breakfast was a typical affair for Super 8. Employees were nice and efficient. Will stay here again when passing through the area.

  • Liked — The Pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KatherineNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

I am not thrilled with this hotel. All of the rooms face the inside pool, which is filled with very noisy children. The sound-proofing is none existent.
I also do not know how this hotel satisfies ADA laws. The only access to all rooms involves using atleast 7 stairs. I use a cane and stairs are problematic. I have no idea how some one in a wheelchair could stay here.
The rooms were slightly larger than other Super 8 motels I have stayed in, and it was fairly clean. The chlorine odor pervades everything, so one could smell a smoky room if you had to.
There is a broad lawn to the side of the hotel for dog walking.

  • Liked — Good place to walk the dog
  • Disliked — Noisy and poor ADA complicance
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

First, we arrived in Spearfish after a very tiring day of driving in the Black Hills and it had rained hard all day. A small stream near the hotel was flooding and unfortunately had nowhere to go except across the parking lot and into the street, making it a tense adventure to get into or out of the hotel. I had booked a room several weeks in advance, but apparently did not specify a non-smoking room, so we were originally assigned a stinky smoking room on the first floor. When we returned to the front desk, the clerk was very helpful; although there was only one non-smoking room available at that time and it was a huge suite on the third floor, she gave it to us without an extra charge.

This hotel has an indoor pool and all the rooms open into the large space around this pool. I thought that the entire hotel smelled of pool chemicals, although it was a lot stronger on the first floor than on the third. It also felt very damp, but that could have been due to the rain and not the pool. There is no elevator and lots of stairs so be prepared for that.

I feel sort of bad complaining about the room, since I was almost forced to spend the night in a worse one, but it really wasn't comfortable. There were three queen-sized beds in the room. Two of them were placed directly under windows, so that a person would look up at the curtains when lying down. The third bed was in a sort of alcove away from the others. No curtain problem, but it was the farthest from the bathroom and we couldn't see the TV from it. The beds themselves had deep dips in the middles and were not comfortable at all. One of my pillows felt like three tissues in a bag.

Also in the room were two small tables with chairs, but the tables were very wobbly and the chairs showed a lot of wear. The lights in the room were not well placed for any sort of activity. There were three wall units for air conditioning and they were loud, so we only used the one farthest from the bed. The room was clean but not spectacularly so. Everything looked rather tired and worn out.

The bathroom was clean. The toilet seat was askew and wobbled a bit, and the shower curtain was almost too short, but not quite. This larger room also had a tiny kitchenette, with sink, microwave, and refrigerator. It might be a good choice for a larger group of people staying in the area for several days at a time.

We thought it was difficult to find this hotel. It is at the end of a side-street that had no sign. There was a billboard on I-90 that read something like "turn here", but only on one side so if you were coming from the other direction, there was nothing to guide you. Once we found it, getting to and from I-90 was no problem and there were several restaurants and gas stations nearby.

The clerk at check in provided a recommendation for and written directions to a very good Mexican restaurant in town. It was a lot farther away than we expected, but worth the drive.

The free breakfast was OK. There was some cold cereal, apples, coffee, and donuts. There was a nice eating area with lots of seating, and it wasn't crowded into the same space as the food serving area. There was also a computer in the lobby for guests to use and a couple of pinball or video game machines (I didn't get close enough to determine which kind they were) in one of the stairwells.

I think I would try a different hotel if I was staying again in Spearfish. Although the staff here were helpful and friendly, I had too many issues with the rooms and the indoor pool. This hotel might be a better choice for families traveling with kids, who would use the pool, or for groups of people needing a large room as stated above.

  • Liked — The staff was friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — Not comfortable at all.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pferdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spearfish

Property: Super 8 Spearfish
Address: 440 Heritage Drive, I-90 EXIT 14, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Super Eight Spearfish
Spearfish Super Eight
Spearfish Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing