We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spearfish Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Spearfish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Spearfish
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Rushville, NE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spearfish Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I are here in South Dakota for the summer. I am working at Pine Ridge, and we are enjoying the weekends. I can not speak highly enough about this hotel. I am not sure why it is 5th, it should be 1st. The suite we stayed in was the size of 3 hotel rooms, and less expensive than our room at Rapid City. The only problem we had was they did not allow dogs in the suite and we were not told that. We rented the room next door and still paid less than our Rapid City room. The bed was not the softest bed around but if you like a firm mattress you will love this one, I like a soft matress, but my husband enjoyed it. The pool was wonderful, warm, and was 9 ft at its deep end and 3 ft at the other. The hot tub seated 6 people, warm, with strong jets. Staff was nice and the room was very clean. We highly recommend this hotel, and the scenic byway is worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursewurmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    114
    62
    27
    19
See reviews for
151
115
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012


Decent stay for the price. The location wasn't great because it was so far from places to eat. There was a subway and another restaurant down the road. It is close to I- 90. The room was $70 with our AAA discount. The indoor pool was nice but the pool isn't heated. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were big. The carpets need to be cleaned and I noticed when the beds were turned down that under the beds, there was trash. The breakfast was typical continental with waffles, fruit, slim selection of muffins/pastries/donuts, juice,and coffee. We would still recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Unfortunately our stay was during the state track meet in Spearfish. Upon checking in we were told we could park at the rear of the building and go up the backstairs to our room. The only problem was the entire track team had congregated right at the top of the steps in the hall. The noise in our room was unreal, the kids screaming and hollaring for over an hour was a bit much...I know the noise could be heard in the lobby because we exited through the lobby when we went to eat (since the kids were still blocking the back steps). Once those kids finally dispersed the noise level was much better and I was able to sleep just fine. I just don't think the motel should allow a team to disrupt everyone else's stay.

Breakfast was well stocked considering the number of people and I was impressed with how quickly they replaced something once it ran out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had a HORRIBLE experience at the Spearfish South Dakota Super 8. We arrived at 2:30pm to check in to get ready for a wedding they knew about that started at 4pm. Our room was NOT ready and the lady at the front desk (who was the manager) was EXTREMELY rude about it like it was our fault for checking in too early! She was also not accommodating about giving us a room that was ready. She told us to come back IN HALF AN HOUR!!!! 45 minutes later the room was done and we had to rush to get ready. The next morning she was again rude to people outside our room who wanted to just sit by the pool for five minutes to wait for it to open. I am VERY disappointed in everything about our stay! A bad stay to what should have been a happy weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NationalCowgirlHOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I booked on-line through Orbitz, when we arrived everything was perfect. Megan at the Front desk was so wonderful. She was a breathe of fresh air. She was pleasant,helpful,and cheerful. We had never been to the area and we had lots of questions. She went above and beyond to answer any and all questions. Our room was good, with plenty of room. Our only issue was with low pressure in the bathroom. When I asked about it ,I was told the building was in the middle of being updated. The pool and hot tub were fantastic. After a long day sight seeing it was what we needed. My 10 year old son LOVED the video game, pool, and make your own waffles. Keep up the great job. Thank you Megan for all your help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We enjoyed having you stay with us. If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you come back and visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a gem of a find! After five days of traveling across the U.S., I was on my last two days and wiped out. The manager was friendly and kind, the facilities were clean, and the beds were new. It was the most comfortable bed ever! Okay, maybe not the best ever, but definitely comfortable. And although I did not use the pool or hot tub, they looked VERY clean and inviting. I mean, seriously? How many Super 8's have you been to that even have a hot tub? And for only $45 in the off season! Thanks, Super 8 Spearfish!! :-)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here over thanksgiving, 2011 and I am again staying over Easter weekend 2012. Clean rooms, excellent service and a good location.

Room Tip: Lower floor corner suite has 2 private bedrooms with tvs and a shared living room/bathroom which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaR432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to Spearfish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spearfish

Property: Super 8 Spearfish
Address: 440 Heritage Drive, I-90 EXIT 14, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Super Eight Spearfish
Spearfish Super Eight
Spearfish Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing