We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay for the price.”
Review of Super 8 Spearfish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Spearfish
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Reviewed June 10, 2012


Decent stay for the price. The location wasn't great because it was so far from places to eat. There was a subway and another restaurant down the road. It is close to I- 90. The room was $70 with our AAA discount. The indoor pool was nice but the pool isn't heated. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were big. The carpets need to be cleaned and I noticed when the beds were turned down that under the beds, there was trash. The breakfast was typical continental with waffles, fruit, slim selection of muffins/pastries/donuts, juice,and coffee. We would still recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Spearfish
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 431 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

Unfortunately our stay was during the state track meet in Spearfish. Upon checking in we were told we could park at the rear of the building and go up the backstairs to our room. The only problem was the entire track team had congregated right at the top of the steps in the hall. The noise in our room was unreal, the kids screaming and hollaring for over an hour was a bit much...I know the noise could be heard in the lobby because we exited through the lobby when we went to eat (since the kids were still blocking the back steps). Once those kids finally dispersed the noise level was much better and I was able to sleep just fine. I just don't think the motel should allow a team to disrupt everyone else's stay.

Breakfast was well stocked considering the number of people and I was impressed with how quickly they replaced something once it ran out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had a HORRIBLE experience at the Spearfish South Dakota Super 8. We arrived at 2:30pm to check in to get ready for a wedding they knew about that started at 4pm. Our room was NOT ready and the lady at the front desk (who was the manager) was EXTREMELY rude about it like it was our fault for checking in too early! She was also not accommodating about giving us a room that was ready. She told us to come back IN HALF AN HOUR!!!! 45 minutes later the room was done and we had to rush to get ready. The next morning she was again rude to people outside our room who wanted to just sit by the pool for five minutes to wait for it to open. I am VERY disappointed in everything about our stay! A bad stay to what should have been a happy weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NationalCowgirlHOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I booked on-line through Orbitz, when we arrived everything was perfect. Megan at the Front desk was so wonderful. She was a breathe of fresh air. She was pleasant,helpful,and cheerful. We had never been to the area and we had lots of questions. She went above and beyond to answer any and all questions. Our room was good, with plenty of room. Our only issue was with low pressure in the bathroom. When I asked about it ,I was told the building was in the middle of being updated. The pool and hot tub were fantastic. After a long day sight seeing it was what we needed. My 10 year old son LOVED the video game, pool, and make your own waffles. Keep up the great job. Thank you Megan for all your help.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We enjoyed having you stay with us. If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you come back and visit. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a gem of a find! After five days of traveling across the U.S., I was on my last two days and wiped out. The manager was friendly and kind, the facilities were clean, and the beds were new. It was the most comfortable bed ever! Okay, maybe not the best ever, but definitely comfortable. And although I did not use the pool or hot tub, they looked VERY clean and inviting. I mean, seriously? How many Super 8's have you been to that even have a hot tub? And for only $45 in the off season! Thanks, Super 8 Spearfish!! :-)

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here over thanksgiving, 2011 and I am again staying over Easter weekend 2012. Clean rooms, excellent service and a good location.

Room Tip: Lower floor corner suite has 2 private bedrooms with tvs and a shared living room/bathroom which is...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaR432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to Spearfish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had a snowmobile trip with family and friends. The pool and hot tub were great after snowmobiling all day, the kids had a fun time. A little of everything was on the breakfast "1"!!!
Staff was accomodating in meeting all our needs. Front desk had some different places to eat and ideas of things to do and places to go. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Talk to front desk to make sure about the rooms you get. They suggested suites for our families and...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted your family enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We have a variety of suites including family suites with 3 queen beds to accomodate families when they travel. We hope to see you again in your visit to the Black Hills (maybe snowmobiling again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spearfish

Address: 440 Heritage Dr, I-90 Exit 14, Spearfish, SD 57783-9776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: $60 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Super Eight Spearfish
Spearfish Super Eight
Spearfish Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing