We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable, glad we chose it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crow Peak Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crow Peak Lodge
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable, glad we chose it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We travel fairly often and this time it's a road trip with our small housebroken, well behaved dog. We chose this motel in Spearfish because of the rate ($75 includes pet fee) AND because of an outdoor entrance so we could easily take our boy outside to go potty. We also liked the setting on a quiet street. We were glad they put us in this separate building from the main building as it feels like a cabin/apartments instead of staying where it is more cramped.
We are staying in the separate building (one story) that has a wooden porch. What a cute way of finishing off an older motel. While it's too cool to sit outside, this would be an asset in the right season as it has ample place on the deck/porch to sit and visit.
Our room is large. Our little doggy has room to chase his ball across the floor and it's not a bit cramped like some older motels. We have two double beds that are very comfortable. It is not fancy but very clean and comfortable. Small fridge, microwave, older tv is on cable. There is a nice large sink area that is separate from the shower/tub and toilet. The room also has a safe. The tv sits in an entertainment center/chest of drawers. The bedspreads and drapes look fresh, the furniture is not new but it's not shabby either. The carpet is not worn in our unit (#122).
This is our first time to Spearfish and even though there are a number of motels here, I believe we would come back here to this one if we ever travel here again. The rate was great, the access to the car was just what we wanted. The front desk lady was very nice.
If you want luxury then this isn't for you. If you want a clean, adequate, comfortable place to stay with your dog or children, then I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Stay in the part that is separate from the main building. Has a porch/deck and a nice setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbound2east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Beachbound2east, we appreciate your time in writing a review of our property. Many of our guests would agree with your preference for the rooms in the building you stayed in. We are glad to hear you found your room comfortable, convenient, reasonably spacious, and clean. The bedding in all rooms have recently been updated. Since we have changed from the Travelodge to The Crow Peak Lodge, we are working to update the rooms so they are clean, comfortable, yet affordable. All rooms now have digital televisions, for example, and we have improved the coverage of our wi-fi signal as well.

We are delighted to have pets who are as well-behaved as yours as our guests, and unlike many other places, we do not give pet owners smoking rooms (unless the pet owners book them). We would be happy to have you (and your doggy) stay with us next time you visit Spearfish. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    24
    10
    18
See reviews for
20
50
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I use this site as a negotiating tool for our room rates. Travelodge quoted us $54 for the night but, using the TA partner's rate, we got a room for $45.
This Travelodge is 'motel' style with some rooms being in a separate block from the main building, doors opening straight onto the sidewalk. Not really a problem as the door was very well sealed so as not to allow the cold wind of 34f weather to enter. The hotel is on a very quiet side street and so noise was not an issue either. While very clean and with the usual coffee maker, hairdryer, iron, cable tv etc.... the room was very dated and with some repair needed to the decor. Heating was from a quiet electric and thermostat system but we had to turn it right up to 80f to keep the room warm enough overnight. The bed was comfortable and we were not at all cold.
Breakfast was a basic 'continental' but being able to make your own fresh waffles at least allowed for something warm.
It might not be the best hotel in Spearfish but at the right price you will get a clean, well serviced place to sleep.

Room Tip: Negotiate your price using Tripadvisors rates. Room 123 was centrally placed in the block and so pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsMeJustG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
ItsMeJustG, we appreciate your review here on TripAdvisor. As we have become a new property, we are improving the décor in the rooms as well as making the heating/air conditioning more responsive to our guests' requirements. For example, the room you have commented on, Room 123, has been recarpeted and repainted since your review. We are also upgrading our breakfast, with more offerings throughout the year and especially during the summer months. Our objective is to provide clean, comfortable, friendly and affordable accommodation. We hope you will once again choose to stay with us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed a week in Spearfish at The Travel Lodge .The weekly rates are very economical ,the rooms are adequate . There is plenty of hot water . We would like to mention that Jenny at reception was very helpful and a very nice person. Our stay included a $100 deposit which was credited back to our credit card ,Thank You Sunshine. I cannot speak on the breakfasts offered ,as we never had one. Our daughter suggested this Hotel as she had stayed in it previously for 1 month and found it very acceptable ,which it is . Our stay in Spearfish was very good as was our stay in the Travel Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TColeman351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
TColeman351, we appreciate your decision to stay with the Travelodge last year and we are glad to hear your week-long stay was a wonderful one. Now, since we have become The Crow Peak Lodge, we will still continue to offer the weekly and monthly rates after Labor Day until June. This provides an economical and convenient way to explore the Black Hills outside of the busy season. We are happy to hear that the hotel staff went above and beyond to make your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay at The Crow Peak Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is an older, well-kept motel that is in a residential area near downtown Spearfish. The price was much better than other properties in the area. Initially it was not easy for us to find, but we found the location to be a convenient base for our explorations in the Black Hills. Check-in was fast and efficient, and the front desk clerk answered our many questions and gave us some tips on the area. Our room (room 124) was large with a sofabed and a 39 inch tv and had nice comfortable (pillow-top?) beds. It had a deck outside overlooking a small garden and a hot tub two doors down. No swimming pool. There was a large patio nearby that had grills for guests to use, although we didn't use them during our stay. We would recommend this motel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the building that has a deck overlooking the garden (I think rooms 121-125).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Robert G, we are happy that you enjoyed the location and the upkeep of our hotel when it was the Travelodge. Now, as The Crow Peak Lodge, we have improved our rooms to offer LED TVs in all rooms and have been continuing with the upgrades to each room. Although we don’t have a swimming pool, we offer a hot tub and a large deck for lounging and BBQ grills for our guests’ use. The room you stayed in has been made even nicer, with new carpet and new bed tops. We are able to do this despite being having lower than average prices for hotels in the area. We hope you will choose to stay with us once again next time you return to the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 5 nights whilst visiting the South Dakota attractions. The hotel itself is unusual for a motel but in a nice way.
Unfortunately the first night we stayed in a room below the top room which was very noisy until 2am with young children crying and parents loud. When we complained to the front desk staff we were told it was where the Manager and family lived! Fortunately for us they went on holiday the next day.
The motel was understaffed and our stay was only bearable because of a lady called Jenny who was extremely concientious and sorted out problems as they arose. If it hadn't of been for her we would have left and found somewhere else.
Plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance but reminded us of "Faulty Towers"

Room Tip: Stay away from the managers accommodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBStIvesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
ChrisBStivesUK, we appreciate the review you had written on the Travelodge. We are happy to hear you had a good stay and found the area around our hotel convenient. We are also glad our staff were able to address and help fix your concerns, particularly when you encountered some noise from an adjacent room. In any hotel, including some five-star properties, noisy neighbors can affect your stay. We hope that next time you are in town, you will choose to stay with us (now we are The Crow Peak Lodge). Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
2.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crow Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crow Peak Lodge

Property: The Crow Peak Lodge
Address: 346 W Kansas St, Spearfish, SD 57783-2020 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crow Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Crow Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Spearfish
Travel Lodge Spearfish
Spearfish Travelodge
Spearfish Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing