We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crow Peak Lodge
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
“Wonderful overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here in early March after a long road trip up from Denver. I received a clean room in one of the out buildings. The bed was comfortable. The staff I encountered during my stay were all very friendly and helpful. They have a laundry and hot tub in the same building. Although it was 8:30 PM when I arrived, which was almost closing time for the hot tub, the front desk kept the hot tub open late for me while I did my laundry. This was really nice after a 7 hour drive! I would definitely stay at this motel again when in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSB855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
RSB855, we appreciate the review you had written about our property. We are happy to see that The Crow Peak Lodge’s friendly staff and clean rooms impressed you. Our guest laundry is open 24 hours a day for our guests and our hot tub is a great way to relax at the end of a busy day. We hope you will once again choose to stay with The Crow Peak Lodge after your next 7 hour drive up from Denver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    46
    24
    11
    18
See reviews for
22
50
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were looking for a pet-friendly hotel close to restaurants, and this was suggested by a local. The hotel is a bit older in exterior appearance, which initially concerned us. The front desk clerk was friendly and made some great dinner suggestions. The room was pleasantly furnished, had plenty of light and room to maneuver, but was not fancy. Bedding appeared new and was extremely comfortable. The only complaint about the room was that the tub drained slowly, but this was a minor issue. Breakfast was simple, but typical for this level of hotel (waffles, cereal, donuts, coffee). Spearfish is a beautiful town and we hope to return and enjoy it more.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in a single level building while others are in a two-story building. The rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Frank T, we appreciate the comments you have provided about your stay at the Travelodge. Although many of the comments you have mentioned are still true since our transition to The Crow Peak Lodge in June 2014, we have added many other amenities that will make your next stay even better. The breakfast has been improved to offer more items. We agree that Spearfish is a beautiful place and we welcome you back to our hotel next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My sister and I (in our late 50s) spent two nights at the Travelodge in late December. Each of us has stayed at this motel previously on several occasions while visiting family a few blocks away.

Our room was clean, and the bathroom was spotless. The furnishings were comfortable but slightly slightly dated, but the beds felt cozy and new. My sister and I slept very well in the two queen beds in our room. The room and bath both were cleaned to very high standards both days we were there.

The breakfast (included in the cost) consisted of a waffle-maker for making waffles, two choices of dry cereal, donuts, breads, tea and coffee, and two kinds of juice. Others here have mentioned it was not great, but my sister and I thought it was typical for the price we paid for the room. A basic breakfast is a basic breakfast.

What I really came to appreciate about the Travelodge was the staff, especially Jeni. Her friendly nature left me with the feeling of staying with a friend rather than being alone in a faceless place far from home. My sister enjoyed the Travelodge just as much as I did. This is one of the biggest reasons I rated this motel, which although very typical for this price range, as it had everything I needed to be comfortable, as "very good" instead of "average." Some may prefer to spend nearly twice as much and stay at the places up at Exit 14 like the Holiday Inn, which has a pool and are much more expensive, but I will continue to return to the Travelodge whenever I return to Spearfish.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Samantha S, we appreciate the time you took to write a review on the Travelodge. We are delighted to read the words you have written about your stay. Although we are now The Crow Peak Lodge, many of the positive comments you had written about are still true. During the summer months, we offer an extended continental breakfast, with fruit, yogurt, several choices of breads and pastries, hot and cold cereals, hot waffles, and juices, coffee and tea. We hope that when you return to Spearfish, once again you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here in October, 2012. Arrived without reservations and was checked in by Jenni, who was pleasant and did a good job getting us checked in quickly. This Travelodge is spread out in many buildings in an unusual configuration with a courtyard and large patio area. Our room was clean and large for a motel room, with new bedding according to the sign out front, and our room had a deck out front. Fortunately for us, the weather was unusually balmy for South Dakota in mid-October, so we were able to sit outside and enjoy it. Breakfast was slightly better than most hotels at this budget level. The internet worked well. There was laundry and a hot tub available to us, but we didn't use it. Overall, we were happy with the $52 rate we were charged and will stay again when back in town.

Room Tip: the rooms on the south side (rooms 122-125) have a deck out front, but are along Kansas Street. Noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TL_Spearfish, General Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, Trevor S. We are delighted your stay with us was a pleasant one. We will continue to work hard to ensure your future stays with us are as nice as the one you described in your review.

Our hotel is made up of several buildings. This allows most guests to have a room with fewer neighbors and more privacy as well as the ability to park close to their rooms. During our warmer months, many of our guests find the exterior deck on rooms 121-125 you described as a quiet and pleasant place to hang out and watch the world go by. The eight person hot tub and large deck we have is good for larger functions and activities.

I have passed along the the comments you have made about your check-in to Jeni, as well as our other front-desk staff.

Trevor S, we hope the next time you are in Spearfish you will stay with us again. We look forward to your return and if you book directly with our property, please ask for me - I will make sure you get the nicest room available.

Thank you and happy travels,
Christopher Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
669 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a pet-friendly motel with nice parks nearby to walk your pet. The room was clean, the staff were pleasant. There's a large outdoor deck (looks like it used to be a pool) to sit outside. The motel is within easy walking distance of several restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TL_Spearfish, General Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, Hola4876. We are delighted your stay was pleasant and met your expectations. We will continue to work hard to ensure your future stays with us are as nice (or better) as the one you wrote about in your review.

As you have noted in your review, we offer pet-friendly rooms. However not all of our rooms are pet-friendly, so it is always better to let us know if you have a pet in advance of your arrival. Unlike many other hotels, we do not automatically assign pet owners to smoking rooms (we have yet to find a pet that smokes); at the same time, we also understand that some guests have pet allergies. We therefore have a separation of pet-friendly and non-pet rooms. In summer, when pet-friendly rooms are harder to find in the area, it is best to book in advance and let us know you have a pet (or pets).

There is a shady walking trail along Spearfish Creek behind our hotel that is perfect for dog lovers. Also, there is a large field and the part of town we are in is a residential walking-friendly area.

Once again, Hola4876, we hope the next time you are in Spearfish you and your pet will choose to stay with us again. We look forward to your return and if you book directly with our property, please ask for me - I will make sure you get the nicest room available.

Thank you and happy travels,
Christopher Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Booked this on a business trip and found the hotel to be small, clean, close to restaurants, and especially close to the Black Hills State University. There is a free breakfast at 7:00 am every morning, but it consists of coffee, juice, waffles and cold cereal. The check-in and out was easy and uneventful. Recommended for a nice little out of the way hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_fotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TL_Spearfish, General Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, The_fotobug. We are delighted your stay was a pleasant one. We will continue to work hard to ensure your future stays with us are as nice as the one you wrote about in your review.

As you have noted in your review, we offer a quiet stay that is convenient to many of Spearfish's many activities. We are located in town and are one of the closest hotels to Black Hills State University, City Park, the Fish Hatchery and Spearfish High School. Each of these are just a few short blocks away. We are also within a convenient distance of many restaurants and just down the street from a majority of the churches in Spearfish. The start of the Spearfish Canyon is also close to our hotel.

The_fotobug, we hope the next time you are in Spearfish you will stay with us again. We look forward to your return and if you book directly with our property, please ask for me - I will make sure you get the nicest room available.

Thank you and happy travels,
Christopher Harris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#9 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crow Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crow Peak Lodge

Property: The Crow Peak Lodge
Address: 346 W Kansas St, Spearfish, SD 57783 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crow Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crow Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Spearfish
Travel Lodge Spearfish
Spearfish Travelodge
Spearfish Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing