We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Spearfish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Isabel, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Enjoyed the stay...I slept well, the room was very clean, it was quiet, the whole stay was great! The staff is very helpful and courteous. I have stayed here several other times with the same experience. I know that I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    71
    32
    18
    19
See reviews for
89
108
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was my first stay at a Hampton Inn. I've been a loyal Holiday Inn Express fan for years, but they've let me down enough to look around. My room had a few maintenance items that were annoying but overall the room was very nice. Very clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows are very nice. I like the fact that they was the duvet cover on the comforter for each guest. My room had an improperly hung front door that allowed hallway daylight and noise to come into the room. The folks at the front desk were very friendly every time I spoke with them. The breakfast was good but I was surprised to see the sausage was turkey sausage. There were enough healthy items to keep health conscious guests happy, I fail to see why the sausage has to be turkey? The building is located close to the interstate and is easy to find. The room was well insulated from the interstate noise. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City La., United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellant service and amenities. Great location with easy on and off interstate, thier is easy access to meet all of your requirements. All of your needs are addressed once you check-in and ask the questions you need answers to.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Willard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel was very nice. The staff was very friendly, timely and helpful. The beds were comfortable! Fun waterslide for the kids (Pool floor was very slick when it got wet). Nice breakfast. The only disadvantage at breakfast was that there was only one waffle machine and it was very popular so there was a wait time for waffles. The other food selection was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The room is very comfortable; the bathroom is very clean; the outside noise is minimal. And the location is just off the Interstate. You can't miss it. Great place to stay in Spearfish. But if you are staying there in the winter during snow season, the driveway is very steep and can be icy. 4-wheel drive is a good thing to have when entering or leaving the hotel parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, MA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

On a road trip from MA to Montana my daughter and I stayed at this hotel. We arrived too late and tired to make use of the pool and fitness center, but the room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located nearly a the off ramp of the highway, so easy to find, and easy to get going in the morning. I definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundance, Wyoming
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The overall appearance of the hotel is very nice. The breakfast is wonderful. The rooms are clean and that is where the rants and raves end. The pillows are an absolute joke, bring your own!! The rooms are very noisy. The heater/air conditioner units are very loud!! The pool was ice cold and the slide is not age appropriate. It is located in the deep end and the ladder is too small for adults to get up it, yet younger children can't use it because they can't touch!! The flooring used is too slick and the kids were slipping and falling every time they got out of the pool.. Not a reasonable place to stay for all the complaints. We won't be staying again. There are 3 other hotels in very close proximity to this one, I highly recommend staying in one of them instead!!

Room Tip: Horrible nights sleep for all of us!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Minnie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Spearfish

Property: Hampton Inn Spearfish
Address: 240 N 27th St, I-90 and 1st Ave (NE side), Spearfish, SD 57783-3273 (Formerly Comfort Suites Spearfish)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Spearfish 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Spearfish is ideally set in the scenic Black Hills and surrounded by nature's beauty. Guests enjoy spacious accommodations and convenient amenities you're sure to love such as free hot breakfast and high-speed Wifi. Take advantage of our indoor swimming pool, fitness center, business center and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Spearfish Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing