We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fabulous atmosphere”
Review of Bay Leaf Cafe

Bay Leaf Cafe
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Locally owned restaurant with fresh, flavorful, locally produced food, sparkling clean, friendly, supporting the arts in a renovated historical building. Serving wine, beer, espresso, lunch and dinner, some outdoor dining during summer months. We have WiFi. Tell your server if you have specialty dietary needs... we happily accommodate.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, fabulous atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had an excellent dinner here - fish dishes are highly recommended. Very good service, and the art gallery in the restaurant adds to a great atmosphere. Free WiFi, too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAWJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    59
    21
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful Restaurant!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A lovely, little restaurant in Spearfish, SD. Clean, sparse decor and very friendly staff!! They were surprisingly accommodating for my strict vegetarian and gluten-free diet. Food is fresh and made in house. I recommend the potato skin soup which was delicious.
Also, we sat outside because I was travelling with my dog. The staff brought him water and treated him well.
I wish there were more restaurants like this little one- the food and staff were perfect!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoCushla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Va
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprising menu in S.D.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stopped by this cafe on our trip through Deadwood and were pleasantly surprised to find a gem like this. The menu had some interesting appetizers like hummus and pita which I wouldn't expect in a small town like this. The menu was extensive and had lots to chose from. My husband had the elk, my daughter had the fish and both were well prepared and served in a timely manner. The atmosphere is very calming and pretty and we definitely would return here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shanigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent and Fresh!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We dined here with friends while passing through Spearfish. Our party ordered lemon chicken, a dinner salad, hummus and pita bread, steamed muscles, and a pasta dish with olives and artichokes. Everything was beautifully presented and tasted great. The portions were also good. Not the huge oversized plates we had seen a lot of on this trip, but not the tiny "art food" portions either. Four hungry travelers left feeling well fed with no leftovers. Service was great and the wait time for the food was commensurate with the high quality of the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr.Reisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The food is delicious! You must try the Mediterranean appetizer, vegetable soup, trout and warm walnut apple pie. The wines by the glass are excellent, too. The people are so kind and friendly. Try this restaurant soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IJSBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Leaf Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bay Leaf Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing