We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best coffee and yummy treats in the area”
Review of Common Grounds

Common Grounds
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Spearfish
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best coffee and yummy treats in the area”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Skip the big coffee chains and head over to Common Grounds. We have been loyal customers for years and always return when we are in the area. This local coffee shop offers a great variety of wonderful coffees and other beverages, so anyone wanting a caffeine-free beverage will find something that make their taste buds very happy. My favorite treat: white-chocolate raspberry scones. So yummy! The sandwiches are great, the staff friendly, the seating varies from plain tables and chairs to couches and coffee tables. It is a cozy place that allows you to relax, so matter what is going on outside: blizzard or extreme heat. Bottom line: We love it and recommend it to everyone in the area. So, stop reading the review and head over there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _simply_my_2_cents_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“cute coffee house”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

AWSOME rolls , wraps, soups ...coffee good too ! they have a drive though which is nice large portions and lots of baked goods outside seating just plain nice

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulala78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwood, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best coffee anywhere”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stop in almost every morning for the delicious Colombian coffee, Fast and easy access if you prefer. Lots of locals enjoying conversation or using the available wi-fi in the comfortable surroundings. Nicest and friendliest staff I've ever encountered anywhere. Several excellent choices for breakfast and lunch are available and prepared fresh as ordered. You cannot go wrong choosing Common Grounds, the atmosphere, staff and menu are nothing less than top shelf.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TopShelfer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great local flavor coffee shop”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great coffee - sorry Starbuck's, but there no comparison. Local art, community bulletin board, bright light interior and large outside area; broad menu of snack, meal and coffee items; friendly prompt service. Good prices. good (long hours). Lots of local flavor. A place to return again and again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NMdondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Earth
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great panini”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stopped in for ice cream as we worked on our ipads for an hour, and we then stayed to split a panini. Very good. Nice people and lots of good vibe in the building. Can tell a lot of locals spend quite a bit of time there. Restrooms were clean and

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Grounds also viewed

 

Been to Common Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing