We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, convenient hotel, hard beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good, convenient hotel, hard beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Overall, this hotel was a great bet for our extended family weekend in Spearfish. My husband and I traveled with our infant daughter and 6 other in-laws. The rooms were spacious, had a mini-fridge, came with a pack-n-play for our daughter (upon request), and opened both to an internal hallway and the outside parking lot, which was very convenient. There was also a hottub in the lobby and breakfast available (good waffles!) each morning. The few downsides: the hottub water was actually cool and the jets were weird, and the beds were very hard and uncomfortable to us. Overall I would stay here again for the convenience and amenities, and because we got our rooms at budget prices, especially for such a short stay. If my stay were longer, I would speak to the management about what could be done to improve the comfort of the beds.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kekocowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    109
    52
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
92
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

These folks go out of their way to do their jobs well. And take time to answer questions and help out. One of the better Best Westerns in the country.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

* * * Not baby-safe, lots of outlets so be sure you have your outlet covers!! * * *

This is an older motel that's right by I-90, so it was very convenient. My only gripe about it - and I have found this true of a lot of the older Best Westerns - is that their non-smoking rooms still smell of stale smoke. I know it's nearly impossible to remove that odor, and we really needed to stop, but it kind of irks me to pay $90 for a room that smells that way.

Having said that, the night clerk was courteous, friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and if I had left the window closed, even the nearby freeway noise was not a problem. All the basic amenities were present: frig, coffee-maker, hair dryer, and (most importantly) free wi-fi. The indoor spa was operational and I saw folks enjoying it, but didn't use it myself. The outdoor pool was closed for the season (it was 43 degrees overnight in September!)

The motel does not have its own restaurant; there is a "family-style" place next door, and a few local places that deliver (the Chinese food we had was excellent) The only thing in walking distance is a gas station/store across the street.

The free breakfast was limited,and although I love the places that have make-your-own-waffles, it would be nice to have more protein choices. Hard-boiled eggs were all they had) and not all carbs (muffins, waffles, cereal).

All in all, this is a good choice IF you can handle the lingering odor of smoke in a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfwoman1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed in a Family Room it had 4 double beds. Great value for the price. The breakfast included waffles with strawberries and cream always a plus with our family! My only complaint is there is no elevator to the second floor which makes carrying luggage in and out with a family of 6 a little difficult. The morning staff were so nice and friendly - tip the breakfast guy he works hard.
Location off the interstae is really nice halfway between Rushmore and Devil's Tower so a nice spot to stay if you plan to see both. 15 miles from Deadwood and if you have extra time take the 45 minute drive to Roughlock Falls through Spearfish Canyon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damsquirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
571 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Spacious, clean, quiet rooms with comfy beds, microwave and fridge. Very nice breakfast which includes waffles, cold boiled eggs, cereals (hot/cold), breads, juice selection, drinks, and fresh fruit. There is no lobby. The checkin area does not reflect the nice condition of the rooms. Outdoor pool was sooo welcome on the blistering hot day we were there. There is a shaded area on the patio. WIFI worked fine, but the table/desk to use the computer was rather small (3x3 feet). AC was automatic and quiet. The hotel picture of the room needs updating as my room was more inviting than the picture portrayed. Beds, for example, had no bedspreads but had nice crisp white comforter covers. No relaxing chair either in my room. The Millstone restaurant next door provided most reasonable prices for an evening meal. We stayed here 2 nights and used it as a base to visit Mt. Rushmore and Deadwood and then to travel north the next day. This motel is a bit out of the way if you wanted to spend a couple of days sighteeing in the Black Hills area. Hill City might be more central for us next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Rooms were comfy, but could be entered from the exterior and interior (though getting to/from car was simple). They were also a bit dated, but clean. The hot tub area was small and crowded, but it was HOT! The continental breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyPortOrchard_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed with our two teenagers in one of the suites and we were definitely satisfied. Plenty of room, clean, interesting decor, friendly people. Breakfast was certainly adequate. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spearfish
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#1 of 15 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 15 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
9.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
Address: 540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota, about halfway between Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Devils Tower National Monument, the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota is near Interstate 90 at Exit 12. Highly ranked on TripAdvisor in Spearfish the past couple years, you'll love the clean rooms with up to date amenities, the nice outdoor pool area and our Lookout Lounge and patio. Find shopping at our quaint downtown stores and a host of great restaurants nearby, including a 24-hour Millstone next door. With most Black Hills attractions 7-70 minutes away in several directions, we make a great stop along the way or as a week-long vacation headquarters. You will be most pleased with our hospitality and service - they are second to none in the area. We wish you safe travels always! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing