We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Spearfish(Spearfish)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Spearfish)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Spearfish(Spearfish)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel(Spearfish)(Great Value!)
$64
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
146
159
67
18
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
159
67
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack hillswafflesfirst floorrestaurant next doorroom was cleanbeer and wineparking lotoutside entranceexterior doorparking areathe ground floorwould recommend this hotel to anyonegreat place to staydefinitely stay here againstaff was very friendlyoff the highwayeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 394 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a combination Motel/Hotel with indoor/outdoor entrances to the rooms. Perfect for whatever style you prefer. This BW is located right at an off ramp to I-90 on a not too busy street. Restaurants and shopping are nearby. Rooms were obviously remodeled once in this new to mid-age Best Western to update the rooms to industry standards with a workstation, fridge, micro, flatscreen, modern furniture. I always like the separate vanity from the bathroom, and the shower had plenty of hot water and pressure.The room was also warm and the heat was efficient. This BW also had guest laundry and an outdoor seasonal pool. The negatives for me was the lack of exercise room and welcoming coffee in the lobby. Also, why would they place the hot tub right at the check in desk? To make sure the kids do not get too rowdy, but everyone walking in the doors gets a good view.

Room Tip: Ground floor adds both style of entrances.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Widmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHillsLodge, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. You have a lot of detail and observations, thank for noting all that. So sorry we did not point out the coffee to you, it is in a room just off the lobby. I do acknowledge that the hot tub room is in an odd location near the lobby. Although guests like the view to the south and west with the Black Hills in site, we are likely going to move that and remodel that room to another amenity(possibly an exercise) So thank you for the comment and thoughts. Safe Travels, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Wonderful staff. Great service. 1st time in area recomened wonderful drive to Mount Rushmore. Actualy had conversation with owner bill very pleasant fellow. Great place

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHillsLodge, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel and comments about the staff, they work hard to provide great service. And I am glad you enjoyed your trip to Mount Rushmore. Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I spend a great deal of time in hotels and I must admit this was a pleasant surprise. One of the things that I like is the main floor rooms all have their own entrance, and parking making unloading a snap. The staff were great, and breakfast was normal fair for a motel. Their is a family style resturaunt next door that has average food, may want to find a better place in town. Gas station across the street, and easy access to the freeway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v98roadstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

First impression when we pulled up was that the hotel looked a bit grim - it is very dark, not the golden pine colour in the photos. However, inside it is fine, a typical chain hotel style. Our room was very spacious and well furnished, including a fridge. Wi-fi worked well in the room. Didn't get a chance to try the hot tub, just off the reception area. Staff very pleasant. The hotel is on 2 floors, no lift (elevator). Breakfast nothing special, but adequate.
The family restaurant next door was closed for renovations, but we had a very nice meal at the Bay Leaf Cafe, about 10 minutes walk away. (Though they did say they would be closed next week, but I don't know if that was just for the week or for the season - give them a ring if planning to go there).

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags, ask for ground floor room - no lift.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

convenient location for visiting Black Hills area, very friendly staff, good breakfast, everything sparkles, nice decor, good restaurant next door, short walk to downtown Spearfish, comfortable bed, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillstblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews