We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great drive.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway

Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
614 reviews
499 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great drive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a very beautiful drive through the Black Hills. Be sure to stop by Roughlock Falls Nature Area, as the waterfall is beautiful.
There are some pullouts to stop and enjoy the view.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AF_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    103
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

You follow the river and go through many canyons while on the Byway. There are many places to stop and do some sightseeing or dip your feet in the babbling brook.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Stunning beauty at every turn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had the chance to run through this beautiful canyon and what a beautiful run it was. Be sure to take a camera to capture all the beauty. My family enjoyed the drive as well! Nice waterfalls, loved the water all along the way, just beauty everywhere! Wish we had time for a picnic lunch that would be a really nice touch!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Runnermom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a fantastic scenic drive/ride. I will definately do it again when I come back. If on a cycle, have someone on back to take pictures.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank skirkland68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a beautiful drive, a not-miss! My fiance rode it on motorcycles in May, 2012 before the season opened, and wow! That was the time to go!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_FJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing